Fundamentals of U. S. Health Care by
All health care students must be familiar with the basic concepts of health care in the United States. This introductory textbook presents vital information on health care careers and legal, ethical, financial, and policy issues that will help their future practice. It includes chapters on: careers in the health care profession; the complexity of health care; the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act; professionalism in health; health care for special populations; the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) standards; research and advancements in health care; the future of health care. Fundamentals of U.S. Health Care is unique in the way it highlights the important elements of each health career, including job requirements, length of study, and salaries. With the student in mind, this book is accompanied by a website that features detailed PowerPoints and test banks with more than 1,000 review questions. Well-organized and easily understood, this overview provides a reliable, relevant resource and up-to-date reference. It is essential reading for all allied health students, including nurses, surgical technicians, dental hygienists, radiology technicians, medical assistants, pharmacy technicians, physician assistants, and more.
Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, Powerpoints, and a short talk on evidence-based management. Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidence-based approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: Principles, Cases, and Perspectives explains what evidence-based management is, how it can improve decision making, and, ultimately, how it can lead the way to improved organizational performance. This updated edition provides a thorough overview of evidence-based management, with an in-depth discussion of the framework, new and expanded case studies and examples, and interviews with experts in the field. Key topics include the following: The definition of and rationale for evidence-based management The four main types of evidence The six steps of implementation Acquiring the best available evidence Barriers to evidence-based management and how to overcome them Perspectives from stakeholders Featuring contributions from a host of experts-including researchers, managers, leaders, and consultants-this book provides a practical and insightful complement to other organizational and management studies. New managers will find it a useful resource to have on hand in healthcare management settings of any kind.
101 Careers in Healthcare Management by
101 Careers in Healthcare Management, Second Edition continues to be the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The second edition has been updated throughout and includes three new chapters that will assist students and healthcare managers alike. Additional content includes a quick historical overview of the field including its growth and transformation, essential traits that will prepare a professional for career change and advancement, and a call for new leadership competencies which every job candidate should adopt and master in a rapidly adapting industry. The book includes more than 40 new interviews spanning those in entry-level positions to CEOs that reflect a greater diversity of careers and demographics in an evolving job market. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, this guide describes careers in acute and long-term care, physician practices, international and government organizations, commercial insurance, consulting firms, executive search firms, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology, medical devices, public health organizations, information technology and informatics, and regulatory agencies. In each setting, experts explain job responsibilities, educational requirements, opportunities, and traditional and nontraditional career pathways. Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education and written in clear, jargon-free text, the second edition, like its predecessor, is easy-to-navigate and now offers even more insider advice for students of healthcare management, career-changers, and those working in the field who are considering career advancement. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on A Brief History of Healthcare Management, Preparation and Professionalism, and Leadership Competencies for an Uncertain FutureOver 40 new interviews with healthcare managers who have changed careers or have advanced in their professional tracks
Introduction to Health Services Administration by
Learn how to effectively manage both people and a practice as a health care administrator with Elsevier's Introduction to Health Services Administration. This comprehensive and easy-to-understand text includes an overview of health care delivery in the United States along with an exploration of each role and function of a health services administrator in an ambulatory care facility. From scheduling patients to managing the revenue cycle, you will learn about every aspect of workflow in addition to relevant issues that heavily influence health care practices today, like HIPPA, regulatory compliance, civil and criminal law, and more. This text also provides a wonderful overview of necessary skills such as how to use an electronic health record system and practice management software, how to budget for staff and equipment, how to manage inventory, how to manage risk, how to improve quality and performance in the practice, and how to best market the practice. If you're looking to become a successful health services administrator, this text is the critical first step. UNIQUE! Comprehensive approach covers the role and functions of a health services administrator and applies them to an array of ambulatory care settings - from a traditional physician's office to a retail care clinic. UNIQUE! Coverage of key PAHCOM and AAPC competencies help you prepare for the competencies on the CMM and CPPM credentialing exams. UNIQUE! Case study scenarios are constructed around many different settings to provide a snapshot of professional life. UNIQUE! Takeaway boxes highlight key points and important concepts. Current Trends in Health Care boxes discuss methods, ideas, and newsworthy issues. Take Learning to the Next Level boxes clarify the subjects being discussed with supplemental information. Learning Checkpoints appear in each section to help you gauge your own learning successes at that point in the reading. Review questions are tied to each learning objective. More than 200 images illustrate difficult concepts and bring health services administration to life. Key terms with definitions in the margins make it easy to identify and learn new vocabulary. Answers to exercises in the text and review questions in the back of the book equip you for self-study.
Management Engineering for Effective Healthcare Delivery by
Management Engineering for Effective Healthcare Delivery: Principles and Applications illustrates the power of management engineering for quantitative managerial decision-making in healthcare settings. This understanding makes it possible, in turn, to predict performance and/or real resource requirements, allowing decision-makers to be truly proactive rather than reactive. The distinct feature of this book is that it provides international exposure to this challenging area.
Health Information Management: Empowering Public Health by
The effective and efficient management of healthcare institutions is key to the successful development of national health systems. In an increasingly digital society, the skills involved in health information management become a primary factor in ensuring this development. Employment is projected to grow in all areas of healthcare, but especially in those related to information management, such as applied informatics, public health informatics and medical informatics. This book, Health Information Management: Empowering Public Health, aims to provide a clear and comprehensive introduction to the study and development of health information management. It is designed for use by university and vocational courses to train allied health professionals. It can also be used as an in-service training tool for new healthcare-facility personnel, for those working in government healthcare institutions, independent billing and health assurance services, or individually by health information specialists. The book describes health information management, and explains how it merges the fields of health care and information technology. Readers will learn logical thinking and communication, and will be introduced to the organizational processes in healthcare institutions, as well as finding out how to organize and analyze health care data; accurately record, store and assess health data; use an electronic patient record system; and provide statistical analysis and interpret the results. The book will be of interest to all those wishing to gain a better insight into what is involved health information management, and to all those studying the subject.
Management Engineering for Effective Healthcare Delivery by
Management Engineering for Effective Healthcare Delivery: Principles and Applications illustrates the power of management engineering for quantitative managerial decision-making in healthcare settings. This understanding makes it possible, in turn, to predict performance and/or real resource requirements, allowing decision-makers to be truly proactive rather than reactive. The distinct feature of this book is that it provides international exposure to this challenging area.
America's Healthcare Transformation by
A revolution in American medicine is in full swing, with the race from fee-for-service to fee-for-value at the front line in an epic battle that will transform healthcare delivery for decades to come. In America's Healthcare Transformation, eminent physician leader Robert A. Phillips brings together key thought leaders and trail-blazing practitioners, who provide a wide-ranging exploration of the strategies, innovations, and paradigm shifts that are driving this healthcare transformation. The contributors offer a panoramic look at the dramatic changes happening in the field of medicine, changes that put the patient at the heart of the process. Among other subjects, the essays evaluate innovative high quality and low cost care delivery solutions from around the United States and abroad, describe fundamental approaches to measuring the safety of care and the impact that guidelines have on improving quality of care and outcomes, and make a strong case that insurance reform will fundamentally and irreversibly drive delivery reform. In addition, America's Healthcare Transformation reviews the role of health information technology in creating safer healthcare, provides a primer on the development of a culture of safety, and highlights ground-breaking new ways to train providers in patient safety and quality. Finally, the book looks at reports from Stanford Health Care and Houston Methodist which outline how successful behaviorally based strategies, anchored in values, can energize and empower employees to deliver a superior patient experience. Drawing on the wisdom and vision of today's leading healthcare innovators, America's Healthcare Transformation provides a roadmap to the future of American healthcare. This book is essential reading for all health care providers, health care administrators, and health policy professionals, and it will be an invaluable resource in the effort to improve the practice of medicine and the delivery of healthcare in our communities and nation.
Understanding and Managing the Complexity of Healthcare by
An argument that understanding healthcare delivery as a complex adaptive system will help us design a system that yields better health outcomes.Breakthroughs in medical science, innovations in medical technologies, and improvements in clinical practices occur today at an increasingly rapid rate. Yet because of a fragmented healthcare delivery system, many Americans are unable to benefit from these developments. How can we design a system that can provide high-quality, affordable healthcare for everyone? In this book, William Rouse and Nicoleta Serban introduce concepts, principles, models, and methods for understanding, and improving, healthcare delivery. Approaching the topic from the perspectives of engineering and statistics, they argue that understanding healthcare delivery as a complex adaptive system will help us design a system that is more efficient, effective, and equitable. The authors use multilevel simulation models as a quantitative tool for evaluating alternate ways of organizing healthcare delivery. They employ this approach, for example, in their discussions of affordability, a prevention and wellness program, chronic disease management, and primary care accessibility for children in the Medicaid program. They also consider possible benefits from a range of technologies, including electronic health records and telemedicine; data mining as an alternative to randomized trials; conceptual and analytical methodologies that address the complexity of the healthcare system; and how these principles, models, and methods can enable transformational change.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Full text titles include American Journal of Chinese Medicine, American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine, California Journal of Oriental Medicine, European Journal of Clinical Hypnosis, International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Journal of Asian Natural Products Research, Journal of the Australian Traditional-Medicine Society, Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association and many others. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.