Medical Law and Ethics by
This is a complete, accessible, and up-to-date guide to the law and ethics of healthcare. Written for health professionals of all kinds - not lawyers - MEDICAL LAW AND ETHICS, 4/e covers the full spectrum of topics that affect practice. Fully updated coverage includes: the legal system, professional liability and medical malpractice, physician's responsibilities, medical records, ethical and bioethical issues, and current regulations. Actual legal cases illuminate subjects ranging from patient confidentiality and abortion to death and dying. Exclusive Med Tips provide quick scenarios and guidance about law and ethics. Each chapter contains glossary terms, exercises, and an actual case; appendices provide current sample codes of ethics.
HIPAA for Health Care Professionals by
HIPAA FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS, 2nd Edition, clearly explains the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, including fundamentals, privacy, security, and common myths. This updated edition also shows you where and how HIPAA affects health care and insurance through modifications to other related laws. Offered in an easy-to-follow format, the text includes examples, real-life scenarios, and optional interactive features to help you better understand important concepts, test that understanding, and prepare you for a rewarding career in health care.
Ethics in Health Services Management by
The most comprehensive book on health services ethics, this text is indispensable for education in health services organization and management, strategic planning, finance, marketing, and nursing administration. From the core principles of respect for persons, beneficence, nonmaleficence, and justice, as supplemented by virtue ethics, readers learn essential steps to effectively identify and solve ethical problems. More than 75 case studies and vignettes allow opportunities to analyze and apply ethical decision making across a range of care delivery settings and topics, including patient autonomy, end-of-life decisions, consent for treatment, resource allocation, whistle-blowing, confidentiality, and more. An extensive index helps readers locate and explore specific topics. Instructor materials available.
Priced Out by
From a giant of health care policy, an engaging and enlightening account of why American health care is so expensive--and why it doesn't have to be Uwe Reinhardt was a towering figure and moral conscience of health care policy in the United States and beyond. Famously bipartisan, he advised presidents and Congress on health reform and originated central features of the Affordable Care Act. In Priced Out, Reinhardt offers an engaging and enlightening account of today's U.S. health care system, explaining why it costs so much more and delivers so much less than the systems of every other advanced country, why this situation is morally indefensible, and how we might improve it. The problem, Reinhardt says, is not one of economics but of social ethics. There is no American political consensus on a fundamental question other countries settled long ago: to what extent should we be our brothers' and sisters' keepers when it comes to health care? Drawing on the best evidence, he guides readers through the chaotic, secretive, and inefficient way America finances health care, and he offers a penetrating ethical analysis of recent reform proposals. At this point, he argues, the United States appears to have three stark choices: the government can make the rich help pay for the health care of the poor, ration care by income, or control costs. Reinhardt proposes an alternative path: that by age 26 all Americans must choose either to join an insurance arrangement with community-rated premiums, or take a chance on being uninsured or relying on a health insurance market that charges premiums based on health status. An incisive look at the American health care system, Priced Out dispels the confusion, ignorance, myths, and misinformation that hinder effective reform.
Managerial Ethics in Healthcare by
Foreword by Stephen Shortell, PhD, Dean of the School of Public Health, University of California Berkeley. The ethical behavior of a healthcare organization is the expression of its moral core. This book shows how the integrity and values of professional healthcare administrators contribute to defining and implementing the organization's moral core. Through conceptual and practical tools-including 30 cases-this book provides a new perspective that recognizes that every decision you make and every activity you undertake have the potential to compromise or enhance the moral core of your healthcare organization. Decisions with ethical implications are described and explored through the experiences of thought leaders, scholars, and healthcare executives. The book demonstrates how personal integrity and values affect decision making, including: Understanding an organization's moral core and how it is expressed in the organization's culture and in operations and decisions at all levels Using concepts, resources, and tools that prepare you to sustain and enhance the moral core of the healthcare organization you manage Assessing the ethical and legal frameworks currently relied on by healthcare organizations to preserve this moral core Acknowledging why personal value systems are important and how they are developed by healthcare administrators Exploring the idea of organizational culture and ethical climate and examining what role they have in formulating and maintaining the moral core Learning how to recognize and manage moral distress, which develops when personal values conflict with the culture of the organization Application of the American College of Healthcare Executives competency assessment tool provides a unique learning experience and relates content to the specific elements of this tool. Instructor Resources include PowerPoint slides with discussion questions and teaching tips.
Guidance for Healthcare Ethics Committees by
Every accredited American hospital is required to have a mechanism for handling ethical concerns; most hospitals satisfy this requirement by constituting an institutional healthcare ethics committee (HEC), a pattern which is repeated in most western countries. This text provides definitive, comprehensive guidance for members of healthcare ethics committees who find themselves confronted with ethically challenging situations. Each chapter includes learning objectives, clinical case studies and questions to stimulate discussion among committee members. Particular emphasis is given to consultation, as this often presents the greatest challenges to committee members. Each chapter stands alone as a teaching module, as well as forming part of a comprehensive volume. Written and edited by nationally and internationally recognized experts in bioethics, this is essential reading for every member of a healthcare ethics committee.
Ethically Challenged by
Revealing the dark truth about the impact of predatory private equity firms on American health care. Won Gold from the Axiom Book Award in the Category of Business Ethics, the Benjamin Franklin Awards by the Independent Book Publishers Association and the North American Book Award in the Catergory of Business Finance, Finalist of the American Book Fest Best Book Social Change and Current Events by the American Book Fest Private equity (PE) firms pervade all aspects of our modern lives. Unlike other corporations, which generally manufacture products or provide services, they leverage considerable debt and other people's money to buy and sell businesses with the sole aim of earning supersized profits in the shortest time possible. With a voracious appetite and trillions of dollars at its disposal, the private equity industry is now buying everything from your opioid treatment center to that helicopter that helps swoop you up from a car crash site. It may even control how and when you can get your kidney dialysis. In Ethically Challenged, Laura Katz Olson describes how PE firms are gobbling up physician and dental practices; home care and hospice agencies; substance abuse, eating disorder, and autism services; urgent care facilities; and emergency medical transportation. With a sharp eye on cost and quality of care, Olson investigates the PE industry's impact on these essential services. She explains how PE firms pile up massive debt on their investment targets and how they bleed these enterprises with assorted fees and dividends for themselves. Throughout, she argues that public pension funds, which provide the preponderance of equity for PE buyouts, tend to ignore the pesky fact that their money may be undermining the very health care system their workers and retirees rely on. Weaving together insights from interviews with business owners and experts, newspaper articles, purchased data sets, and industry publications, Olson offers a unique perspective and appreciation of the significance of PE investments in health care. The first book to comprehensively address private equity and health care, Ethically Challenged raises the curtain on an industry notorious for its secrecy, exposing the nefarious side of its maneuvers.
Bizarre Bioethics by
The focus of bioethical debates on exceptional cases neglects the underlying values--like justice and community--that would lend to a broader, more well-rounded understanding of today's world. Discussions of ethical problems in health care too often concentrate on exceptional cases. Bioethical controversies triggered by experimental drugs, gene-edited babies, or life extension are understandably fascinating: they showcase the power of medical science and technology while addressing anxieties concerning health, disease, suffering, and death. However, the focus on rare individual cases in the media spotlight turns attention away from more pressing ethical issues that impact global populations, such as access to health care, safe food and water, and the prevention of emerging infectious diseases. In Bizarre Bioethics, Henk A.M.J. ten Have argues that this focus on bizarre cases leads to bizarre bioethics with a narrow agenda for ethical debate. In other words, although these extreme cases are undeniably real, they present a limited and skewed view of everyday moral reality. This focus also assumes that individuals are rational decision-makers, so that the role of feelings and emotions can be downgraded. Larger questions related to justice, solidarity, community, meaning, and ambiguity are not appreciated. Such questions used to be posed by philosophical and theological traditions, but they have been exorcised and marginalized in the development of bioethics. Science, ten Have writes, is not a value-free endeavor that provides facts and evidence: it is driven by underlying value perspectives that are often based on metaphors and world views from philosophical and theological traditions. Drawing on a rich analysis of the literature, ten Have explains how bioethical discussion can be enriched by these metaphors and develops a broader approach that critically delves into the imaginative world views that determine understanding of the world and human existence. Examining the roles of the metaphors of ghosts, monsters, pilgrims, prophets, and relics, ten Have illustrates how science and medicine are animated by imaginations that fuel the search for hope, salvation, healing, and a predictable future. Bizarre Bioethics invites students, researchers, policymakers and teachers interested in ethics and health care to think about the value perspectives on health and disease today.
Contemporary Issues in Healthcare Law and Ethics by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides for each chapter and a model answer to each of the activities in the text. Contemporary Issues in Healthcare Law and Ethics, Fourth Edition, examines the most important legal and ethical issues in healthcare, and presents essential information that will help students learn to identify and tackle potential legal problems. This thoroughly revised edition includes new information and extensive updates on topics such as: The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA), including legal requirements about health insurance and health reform The 2012 Supreme Court decision regarding the individual mandate to buy health insurance, the penalty for not having insurance, and the expansion of Medicaid Ongoing legal challenges to mandated contraceptive coverage and whether federal subsidies may be provided for coverage that is purchased through a federally operated exchange New legal obligations for tax-exempt hospitals under the ACA and federal regulations Important changes to Medicare and Medicaid Other changes to laws about abortion, physician-assisted suicide, privacy of medical information, and reform of medical malpractice laws. New to this edition are more activities that apply legal principles in the text to specific facts. Also, an in-text glossary has been added.
Contemporary Issues in Healthcare Law and Ethics by 
Healthcare and Human Dignity by
The individual and structural biases that affect the American healthcare system have serious emotional and physical consequences that all too often go unseen. These biases are often rooted in power, class, racial, gender or sexual orientation prejudices, and as a result, the injured parties usually lack the resources needed to protect themselves. In Healthcare and Human Dignity, individual worth, equality, and autonomy emerge as the dominant values at stake in encounters with doctors, nurses, hospitals, and drug companies. Although the public is aware of legal battles over autonomy and dignity in the context of death, the everyday patient's need for dignity has received scant attention. Thus, in Healthcare, law professor Frank McClellan's collection of cases and individual experiences bring these stories to life and establish beyond doubt that human dignity is of utmost priority in the everyday process of healthcare decision making.