Introduction to Health Services Administration by
Learn how to effectively manage both people and a practice as a health care administrator with Elsevier's Introduction to Health Services Administration. This comprehensive and easy-to-understand text includes an overview of health care delivery in the United States along with an exploration of each role and function of a health services administrator in an ambulatory care facility. From scheduling patients to managing the revenue cycle, you will learn about every aspect of workflow in addition to relevant issues that heavily influence health care practices today, like HIPPA, regulatory compliance, civil and criminal law, and more. This text also provides a wonderful overview of necessary skills such as how to use an electronic health record system and practice management software, how to budget for staff and equipment, how to manage inventory, how to manage risk, how to improve quality and performance in the practice, and how to best market the practice. If you're looking to become a successful health services administrator, this text is the critical first step. UNIQUE! Comprehensive approach covers the role and functions of a health services administrator and applies them to an array of ambulatory care settings - from a traditional physician's office to a retail care clinic. UNIQUE! Coverage of key PAHCOM and AAPC competencies help you prepare for the competencies on the CMM and CPPM credentialing exams. UNIQUE! Case study scenarios are constructed around many different settings to provide a snapshot of professional life. UNIQUE! Takeaway boxes highlight key points and important concepts. Current Trends in Health Care boxes discuss methods, ideas, and newsworthy issues. Take Learning to the Next Level boxes clarify the subjects being discussed with supplemental information. Learning Checkpoints appear in each section to help you gauge your own learning successes at that point in the reading. Review questions are tied to each learning objective. More than 200 images illustrate difficult concepts and bring health services administration to life. Key terms with definitions in the margins make it easy to identify and learn new vocabulary. Answers to exercises in the text and review questions in the back of the book equip you for self-study.
Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, Powerpoints, and a short talk on evidence-based management. Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidence-based approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: Principles, Cases, and Perspectives explains what evidence-based management is, how it can improve decision making, and, ultimately, how it can lead the way to improved organizational performance. This updated edition provides a thorough overview of evidence-based management, with an in-depth discussion of the framework, new and expanded case studies and examples, and interviews with experts in the field. Key topics include the following: The definition of and rationale for evidence-based management The four main types of evidence The six steps of implementation Acquiring the best available evidence Barriers to evidence-based management and how to overcome them Perspectives from stakeholders Featuring contributions from a host of experts-including researchers, managers, leaders, and consultants-this book provides a practical and insightful complement to other organizational and management studies. New managers will find it a useful resource to have on hand in healthcare management settings of any kind.
Health Management 2. 0 by
From precision medicine to pandemics, from value-based healthcare to stakeholder engagement, European health systems are facing unprecedented change. How can health managers cope with these challenges and what skills and competencies will they need to deliver transformational change in the 'new normality'? This original volume presents a blueprint for Health Management 2.0 and helps set a path for long-term health system sustainability. Along with a comparative European framework to illustrate current developments in health management, the authors also highlight five key change drivers: integration; personalization; empowerment; digitalization; and life sciences, and examine how each is enabling the development of health systems that are fundamentally different from those of today. With fresh insights for managers, educators, researchers and policy makers, Health Management 2.0promotes a modern interdisciplinary and dynamic approach to health leadership and management - one that focuses on skills and competencies - and outlines international best practice for future teaching and training.
How to Deliver Integrated Care by
Care integration has become an important part of managing health and social care services all over the world. Bringing organisations together is thought to produce better access to care, reduce health care expenditure and improve quality of care for patients and service users. This book helps managers to think about how to collaborate in integrated care programmes. It provides practical advice on how to implement various aspects of care integration, such as finance, digital technology and evaluation. The book also contains chapters on the social and behavioural strategies, values and leadership approaches that should underpin integration. Each chapter contains key information based on the current state of research, illustrations from practical contexts and further reading.
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare by
The COVID-19 pandemic exposed the flaws in patient care delivery in many healthcare organizations. Hospitals scrambled to deal with inadequate supplies of ventilators and personal protective equipment while simultaneously combating the inefficiencies inherent in their existing systems. Outpatient areas struggled to deliver care in an environment that was safe for both workers and patients. The pandemic was a reminder that a focus on comprehensive quality management is vital to the daily work of healthcare providers and those they treat. Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: A Systems Approach examines the real-world tools and techniques necessary for improving systems that affect patient care outcomes. Author Patrice L. Spath explains how to explore and modify interconnected systems to make lasting changes that benefit the entire organization. This updated edition features a new chapter on three organizational characteristics that advance success in quality management: continuous improvement, high reliability, and accountability. Throughout, the book emphasizes the role of leadership in all aspects of quality.
Healthcare in the United States by
Healthcare in the United States: Clinical, Financial, and Operational Dimensions offers an introductory overview of the American healthcare system by exploring its many organizations, populations, professions, structures, financing, and delivery models, as well as their impact. Authors Stephen L. Walston and Kenneth L. Johnson delve into the many conflicting issues related to cost, access, and quality. The book's 14 chapters cover the following and more: A comprehensive review of the health professions and types of healthcare organizations; An exploration of how medical providers are paid; Major challenges currently facing physicians, hospitals, and the pharmaceutical industry; An examination of the long-term and mental healthcare sectors and the increasing demands for their services; The significant role of the government in healthcare, including the influence of politics; The basics of population health, including an in-depth look at how changing social, demographic, and economic conditions in the United States affect healthcare; The connections between health behaviors, health insurance, and health outcomes; Information technology's role in healthcare; A comparison of US healthcare to that in other countries, with a focus on the four basic models on which most healthcare systems are created to enhance and assess students' learning, each of the book's chapters features case studies, thought-provoking questions and assignments, sidebars, and key terms accompanied by definitions. As they read, future healthcare administrators and clinicians will obtain a grounding in the multifaceted US healthcare system, thus enabling them to better address its multiple priorities, controversies, and opportunities.
Managing Care by
Healthcare systems worldwide are swamped with demand, short of resources, and ill-equipped to respond to global health crises like COVID-19. This book is a guide for reforming healthcare delivery. The way we organize care matters, and the people best positioned to drive this are the clinicians who deliver care. The book offers a framework for transforming healthcare delivery that covers operational design, change management, long-term learning, and organizational environment. It describes the work of leading local operational change; identifies key decisions to be made, actions to be taken, and factors that must be taken into account; and gives clinicians the tools and perspectives they need to lead change. The challenge of modern healthcare is to develop better organizations capable of delivering compassionate and individualized care on a grand scale while preserving the personal relationship between clinician and patient and the quality of care at the ward, operating room, clinic, or practice. Informed by extensive research and experience with systems all over the world, Richard Bohmer shows how organizations may transform by deploying a new workforce of clinical change leaders and how clinicians can take greater control over their own working environments.
Operations Management in Healthcare by
This comprehensive, practice-oriented text illustrates how healthcare organizations can gain a competitive edge through superior operations. Underscoring the importance of a strategic perspective, the book describes how to attain excellence in the four competitive priorities: quality (laying the foundation for performance), cost, timeliness, and flexibility. It stresses the benefits of aligning the entire operations system within the parameters of a business strategy. The text equips students with a conceptual mental model of healthcare operations in which all concepts and tools fit together. With a hands-on approach, the book clearly demonstrates the how-tos of effectively managing a healthcare organization. It describes how to negotiate the different perspectives of clinicians and administrators by offering a common platform for building competitive advantage. To bring the cultural context of a healthcare organization to life, the book engages students with a series of short vignettes of a fictitious healthcare organization as it strives for and achieves the status of a highly reliable organization. Integrated throughout are a variety of tools with step-by-step instructions to assist in problem solving and process improvements. The book provides mind maps to link competitive priorities and concepts, quick-reference icons, dashboards displaying measurement and progress tracking, quantitative techniques, and boxed features. Also included are several project ideas, team assignments, and creative thinking exercises. A comprehensive Instructor Packet, video tutorials, and other student resources. Key Features: Mind maps to connect competitive priorities, concepts, and toolsMarginal icons throughout the text to indicate the competitive priorities supported by the concepts and tools being discussedProvides an extensive tool kit for problem solving and process improvementsEmphasizes measurement with dashboards and includes supplemental data files for statistical process control, queuing, and simulationVivid vignettes demonstrate human dynamics, organizational challenges, and how to apply toolsBoxed features address frequently asked questions and real-world implementations of conceptsA comprehensive Instructor Packet, video tutorials, and other student resources.