Brazosport College librarians continually work to assess the library's book collection. The first step in this process is “weeding,” which is library speak for choosing which materials to discard. Weeding entails reviewing titles based on currency and relevance to our students, faculty, staff, curriculum, and mission. Items that are out-of-date or no longer relevant are then discarded to make room for new materials.
The primary goal of the Library collection is to support the curriculum and instructional programs of Brazosport College as outlined by our five Core Values:
The Brazosport College Library collection shall include a variety of resources in subject areas not covered by classroom instruction, but are generally supportive of a learning environment. The library also collects popular or general interest materials as they relate to the needs and interests of the college community. For members of the community whose needs are beyond the scope of library collections, library personnel may help to identify and locate such materials at nearby libraries.
The Library will acquire and make available materials in various formats, evaluate existing collections, and develop procedures to maintain the quality of collections and information resources.
We librarians strive to provide a collection which represents many viewpoints. Acquisition of materials does not imply endorsement of the contents or the views expressed in those materials. No material will be excluded from the collection because of the race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, political or social viewpoint, or controversial nature of either the author or of the material.
| Monday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Wednesday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Thursday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Friday | 8:00 am - 12:00 pm |
| General Questions: | (979) 230-3310 |
|---|---|
| Reference Question: | (979) 230-3406 |
| Reference Questions: |
|---|
| Chat with us: | Chat with the BC Library |
|---|
Book an Appointment
| Schedule an in-person or Zoom meeting with a Librarian |
Got a question for us after our regular operating hours? Call and leave a voice message, email the reference desk or utilize any of our study guides. You may also access our online library catalog and A-Z Databases from anywhere 24/7!
|
|---|
The Brazosport College Library is "...committed to student success and lifelong learning... " as stated in the college's mission statement. This collection development policy is aimed at assuring that the library builds and maintains a collection that supports student success, course outcomes, occupational/technical, and community education programs in accordance with both the library and the college's mission statements.
Click HERE for the complete section of Brazosport College Library collection development policies (also embedded within this LibGuide).
Common reasons for deselection include:
Material is now duplicated electronically
Material is outdated or obsolete
Material has not been used in 'X' years
Material is in poor condition and requires replacement
Material is no longer relevant to the curriculum taught at Brazosport College
| Monday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Tuesday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Wednesday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Thursday | 7:30 am - 8:00 pm |
| Friday |
8:00 am - 12:00 pm |
| BC Library is closed on Saturdays and Sundays | |
| General Questions | (979) 230-3310 |
| Reference Questions | (979) 230-3406 |
| Reference Questions | refdesk@brazosport.edu |