The purpose of this guide is to help you find research materials online and in the library. You may use the tabs above to navigate within this research guide related to Process Technology.
Introduction to Process Technology by
For introductory courses in product technology and process controls. National standard for process technology basics Introduction to Process Technology is part of the NAPTA Series for Process Technology. Developed in partnership with Industry and Education, this unprecedented collection supports a consistent curriculum and exit competencies for process technology graduates. Introduction to Process Technology provides learning material for the first course of a process technology program. The updated 2nd edition aligns with the new NAPTA curriculum. It focuses on safety, explores the industry's modern-day processes and legislative influences, and includes new critical-thinking exercises, graphics, and instructor resources.
Process Technology Equipment by
Process Equipmen t is designed to teach readers about equipment used in the process industries. This book includes a variety of topics including, valves, tanks, pumps, turbines, motors, heat exchangers, cooling towers, furnaces, boilers, separation equipment, reactors, filters, dryers and solids handling equipment. Each chapter contains objectives, key terms, a summary, review questions and activities to enhance the learning experience. Readers will find this book to be a valuable resource throughout their process technology career. The Center for the Advancement of Process Technology (CAPT) currently offers several instructor manuals and student workbooks for their books. Currently these must be PURCHASED by the instructor or institution. These materials, order forms, and pricing, can be viewed and purhcased at this website: http://www.naptaonline.org/app/learning
Safety, Health, and Environment by
Safety, Health, and Environment is designed to teach readers about the various safety, health and environmental issues associated with the process industries. This book includes a variety of topics including, hazard recognition, types of hazards, cyber security, engineering controls, administrative controls, personal protective equipment, safety-related equipment, first aid, and governmental regulations. Each chapter contains objectives, key terms, a summary, review questions and activities to enhance the learning experience. This book is appropriate for high schools, community colleges, technical colleges, and universities that offer safety, health and environment courses. The Center for the Advancement of Process Technology (CAPT) currently offers several instructor manuals and student workbooks for their books. Currently these must be PURCHASED by the instructor or institution. These materials, order forms, and pricing, can be viewed and purchased at this website:http://www.naptaonline.org/app/learning
Process Technology by
Process Technology provides a general overview about chemical and biochemical process technology. It focuses on the structure and development of production processes, main technological operations and the important aspects of process economics. The theoretical foundations in each chapter are supplemented by case studies and examples in a clear and instructive manner to illustrate the practical aspects. The author highlights operating principles, reasons for application and available industrial equipment of technological operations. Aim is to facilitate those without a process technology background in multi-disciplinary cooperation with (bio-) chemical engineers by providing an overview of this exciting field. The textbook is organized into seven distinct parts: Structure of the chemical industry and (bio-) chemical processes (Bio-) Chemical reaction engineering Molecular separations (distillation, extraction, absorption, adsorption) Mechanical separations (filtration, sedimentation, membranes) Particle and final product manufacturing Development, scale-up, design and safety of processes Major industrial process descriptions
Petrochemical Process Technology by
With a focus on actual industrial processes, e.g. the productionof light alkenes, synthesis gas, fine chemicals, polyethene, itencourages the reader to think ?out of the box? andinvent and develop novel unit operations and processes. Reflectingtoday?s emphasis on sustainability, this edition contains newcoverage of biomass as an alternative to fossil fuels, and processintensification. The second edition includes: New chapters on Process Intensification and Processes for theConversion of Biomass Updated and expanded chapters throughout with 35% new materialoverall Text boxes containing case studies and examples from variousdifferent industries, e.g. synthesis loop designs, Sasol I Plant,Kaminsky catalysts, production of Ibuprofen, click chemistry,ammonia synthesis, fluid catalytic cracking Questions throughout to stimulate debate and keep studentsawake! Richly illustrated chapters with improved figures and flowdiagrams Chemical Process Technology, Second Edition is acomprehensive introduction, linking the fundamental theory andconcepts to the applied nature of the subject. It will beinvaluable to students of chemical engineering, biotechnology andindustrial chemistry, as well as practising chemical engineers. From reviews of the first edition: ?The authors have blended process technology, chemistryand thermodynamics in an elegant manner? Overall this is awelcome addition to books on chemical technology.?? The Chemist ?Impressively wide-ranging and comprehensive? anexcellent textbook for students, with a combination of fundamentalknowledge and technology.? ? Chemistry in Britain(now Chemistry World)
Process Technology Plant Operations by
Addressing modern process plant operations in an easy-to-understand format, this comprehensive book reveals the important role technicians play in the function of a business unit. The author thoroughly examines operator responsibilities and functions, from recognizing opportunities that improve process operations, to detecting and removing threats to steady-state operation. The book also systematically explores business fundamentals and the importance of quality, as well as the chemistry and physics of process operations, maintenance duties, material handling, and process troubleshooting techniques. Now thoroughly expanded and updated, the Second Edition of this trusted guide includes new chapters on jobs in process technology, environmental compliance, emergency response, and instrumentation. With numerous new and revised tables and photos, as well as additional learning resources to promote Internet research and critical thinking, the book is an even more useful and effective resource for current and future process plant technicians.
Continuous Process Dynamics, Stability, Control and Automation by
This is a modern first course on process control, instruments, process dynamics and stability. MS Excel spreadsheets are used in order to obtain solutions to non-linear equations when needed and closed form analytical solutions are obtained using Laplace transforms and other methods. The solutions are presented in 210 figures and the book has 1319 equations. With an industrial controls market size of about 150 billion dollars and a chemical process industry market size of three trillion dollars, the practioners can use this book to master techniques of P, proportional, PI, Proportional Integral, PD, Proportional Derivative feedback control, feedforword control, hybrid control, adaptive control, internal model control, ratio control, filtered real proportional integral derivative control, ANNs, artificial neural networks, SPC, and statistical process control. Control block diagrams are developed using MS Paint. Flavor for what is a continuous process is given using 18 process flow diagrams. Be it a feedback control of temperature in a mixing tank or a neural network design for a distillation column, the details and the big picture are both given. Pioneers who made this area possible include people such as Maxwell, Galileo, Sherwood, Levenspiel, Kalman, Laplace, Fermat, Damkholer, Newton, Fourier, Fick, Michaelis, Menten, Monod, Staudinger, Ziegler, Natta, Flory, Peclect, Bode, Nyquist, Biot, Bessel, Bernoulli (both father and son!), Euler, Stokes, Mach, Reynolds, Prandtl, Nusselt, Weiner, Hopf, Clapeyron, Clausius, Lorenz, and Kreb, who are mentioned where their theories were used in the analysis.
Industrial Cybersecurity by 
