Welding: Welding Books & eBooks

Overview Drawing from his 35 years experience as an instructor and technical writer in the field, the author provides instructors, students, and professionals with a wealth of welding technology in a readable and comprehensive handbook. Features Describes-in detail-the technology and manipulative procedures for making successful welds in all welding positions, types of joints and metals. Offers hundreds of hints on how to solve every on-the-job welding problem.  

Arc Welding presents the fundamentals, skills, and techniques of this welding process. Presented in 36 easy-to-understand units with numerous illustrations, the approach of this text assists comprehension of material. Write-in design of the text facilitates self-paced learning and evaluation of student progress.

VOLUME 1: Basic communication skills -- Basic employability skills -- Fundamentals of crew leadership -- Basic safety (construction site safety orientation) -- Welding safety -- Introduction to construction math -- Introduction to construction drawings -- SMAW : equipment and setup -- GMAW and FCAW : equipment and filler metals -- GTAW : equipment and filler metals -- Joint fit-up and alignment -- Welding symbols -- Reading welding detail drawings.

VOLUME 2: Weld quality -- Oxyfuel cutting -- Base metal preparation -- Plasma arc cutting -- SMAW electrodes -- SMAW : beads and fillet welds -- SMAW : groove welds with backing -- SMAW : open-root groove welds : plate -- GMAW : plate -- FCAW : plate -- GTAW : plate -- Texas learning addendum.

Welding is a skill that any do-it-yourself enthusiast needs in his or her arsenal. How to Weld is the perfect introduction for newbies and an excellent refresher for veteran welders--a work so comprehensive that most readers won't need any further instruction.

This well-respected, introductory welding book contains coverage of the latest codes, materials, and processes necessary to become proficient in an ever more complex industry. The technology of welding is growing and the book's focus on arc welding processes and the use of steel in construction reflect those changes-while continuing to provide a comprehensive coverage of basic principles and theory. KEY TOPICS: Contains content on hybrid welding and stir friction welding; background concepts and basic welding techniques; the latest standards, codes, and specifications provided by the AWS; the most recent information on the use of high strength metals, laser welding, and arc and oxyacetylene welding; specifications for filler materials, electrodes, brazing fluxes, etc.; computer-aided welding processes; the latest information on the training of welding personnel; and welding power sources. MARKET: For any welding-related occupations, especially welding inspectors, technicians, or engineers.

Welding Skills provides comprehensive coverage of welding safety, major welding and cutting processes, pipe welding, essential metallurgy, metal identification and weldability, welding symbols, distortion control, weld evaluation and testing, and much more. Each welding process section has been updated to include the latest equipment, practical explanations of operating theory, and helpful charts to assist with electrode and shielding gas selection. The new edition also features expanded coverage of the latest welding equipment, procedures, and materials and Gas Metal Arc Welding, Gas Tungsten Arc Welding, and Flux Cored Arc Welding.

This little book is big on answers Whether you're an apprentice in the piping trades or a seasonedtradesperson, you'll find this completely revised and updated guidehas answers to the questions you'll encounter on the job. Get current, concise facts on * Metrics and conversions * Tungsten inert gas welding and arc welding * Steam heating, hot water, refrigeration, and air conditioningsystems * Grooved end/plain end piping systems * Process piping using plastics * Automatic fire protection systems * Terms, BTU fuel values, abbreviations, angle calculations, andmore