LibGuides: ENGL 1302- Rhodes: Genre Inquiry Essay assignment

Genre Inquiry Essay assignment resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers approximately 68,000 streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics from thousands of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers advisory and collection development. Useful for educators, researchers, students, publishers, librarians, and patrons,Book Review Digest Plus provides access to concise, critical evaluations for books with subject coverage in areas such as art, biography, business, education, history, the humanities, literature, music, religion, science & technology, the social sciences and many more.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service that offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health and medicine; humanities and social sciences; science and mathematics; business and economics, as well as archival films and newsreels.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, ever-growing resource for all aspects of literary research and teaching, Literature Online offers the largest library of works online supported with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. "The home of literature and criticism," this is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
One Search/Gator Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

Cinema Genre by Raphaëlle Moine; Hilary Radner (Translator); Alistair Fox (Translator)
Call Number: PN1995.M55913 2008
ISBN: 9781405156509
Publication Date: 2008-06-03
Genre - or 'type' - is a core concept in both film production and the history of film. Genres play a key role in how moviegoers perceive and rate films, and is likely to determine a film's production values and costs. Written in a clear, engaging, jargon-free style, this volume offers a cutting-edge theoretical overview of the topic of genre as practiced in British, American and French film criticism. Organized by a series of simple but fundamental questions, the book uses numerous examples from classic Hollywood cinema (the western, drama, musical comedy, and film noir) as well as some more contemporary examples from European or Asian cinema that are so often neglected by other studies in the field. How do we characterize genre and what are its various functions? In what ways does genre give a film its identity? How do genres emerge? What is the cultural significance of genre and how does it circulate within and across national boundaries? Informative and user-friendly, Moine's book is accessible to general readers and adapts easily to a wide range of teaching approaches.
Genreflecting by Diana Tixier Herald; Samuel Stavole-Carter
Call Number: PS374.P63 R67 2019
ISBN: 9781440858475
Publication Date: 2019-05-24
Librarians who work with readers will find this well-loved guide to be a treasure trove of information. With descriptive annotations of thousands of genre titles mapped by genre and subgenre, this is the readers' advisor's go-to reference. Next to author, genre is the characteristic that readers use most to select reading material and the most trustworthy consideration for finding books readers will enjoy. With its detailed classification and pithy descriptions of titles, this book gives users valuable insights into what makes genre fiction appeal to readers. It is an invaluable aid for helping readers find books that they will enjoy reading. Providing a handy roadmap to popular genre literature, this guide helps librarians answer the perennial and often confounding question "What can I read next?" Herald and Stavole-Carter briefly describe thousands of popular fiction titles, classifying them into standard genres such as science fiction, fantasy, romance, historical fiction, and mystery. Within each genre, titles are broken down into more specific subgenres and themes. Detailed author, title, and subject indexes provide further access. As in previous editions, the focus of the guide is on recent releases and perennial reader favorites. In addition to covering new titles, this edition focuses more narrowly on the core genres and includes basic readers' advisory principles and techniques.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Blends by Megan M. McArdle
Call Number: Z711.5.M38 2015
ISBN: 9780838912560
Publication Date: 2014-09-15
Genre fiction has always been a complex mixture of themes and elements. The increasing popularity of "genre blends," or fiction that straddles the traditional labels, means greater pleasure for readers but a greater challenge for readers' advisory. In this informative and entertaining book McArdle gets library staff up to speed on these engaging titles, showing how such crossover fiction appeals to fanbases of multiple genres. Complete with booklists, summaries, read-alikes, and thorough indexes, this guideCovers suspense, fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, and science fiction, as well as non-genre titles that don't neatly fit into any categoriesOffers guidance for shelving, displaying, and marketing genre blendsShows how to make the most of online discovery tools in cataloging these titlesIncludes "Blend MVPs," a section spotlighting several popular authors who regularly move between genres, and a useful bibliography of additional resourcesProviding a unique look at how common genres are often combined, this guide will open up new worlds of fiction to readers' advisors and those whom they serve.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction by Joyce G. Saricks
Call Number: Z711.5.S27 2009
ISBN: 9780838909898
Publication Date: 2009-04-12
This revised edition provides a way of understanding the vast universe of genre fiction in an easy-to-use format. Expert readers' advisor Joyce Saricks offers groundbreaking reconsideration of the connections among genres, providing*Key authors and themes within 15 genres*An explanation as to how the different genres overlap*The elements of fiction most likely to entice readersProvocative and spirited, The Readers' Advisory Guide to Genre Fiction, 2nd Edition offers hands-on strategies for librarians who want to become experts at figuring out what their readers are seeking and how to match books with those interests.

Genre Inquiry Essay assignment sheet