The Brazosport College Library is "…committed to student success and lifelong learning..." as stated in the college's mission statement. This collection development policy is aimed at assuring that the library builds and maintains a collection that supports student success, course outcomes, occupational/technical, and community education programs in accordance with both the library and the college’s mission statements.
The Brazosport College Library's collection exists to support the following broad educational purposes:
The library's primary patrons are students enrolled in the college's instructional programs. The Library also serves the faculty and staff of the college. Limited borrowing privileges are extended to adult non-students of the college's service area. Borrowers in this third category complete an application for a library card, provide a local address and valid I.D., and pay a nominal fee for the card. All patrons have equal access to materials in the library's open collection, but the library shall establish appropriate patron categories and may provide different levels of checkout privileges and borrowing periods for each category.
Brazosport College exists to improve quality of life by providing certificate, associate and baccalaureate degree programs, academic transfer programs, workforce development, and cultural enrichment in an efficient and cost-effective manner. The board, faculty and staff are committed to student success and lifelong learning by responding to student needs, creating a dynamic learning environment, and enriching communities.
In support of the College's mission, the mission of Library and Learning Services is to support student success by providing a collection that supports the curriculum; easily accessible resources and services on and off campus; instruction in locating, evaluating, and effectively using resources; assistance in completing coursework including technology and proctored testing; and audio/video services.
The Brazosport College Library supports the concept of intellectual freedom and upholds the principles of the American Library Association's "Library Bill of Rights" (See Attachment 1), "Freedom to View" (See Attachment 2) and "Freedom to Read" (See Attachment 3) statements. Materials judged to be appropriate under the parameters expressed in other sections of this policy will be evaluated without prejudice based on racial, ethnic, gender, political, religious, or sexual factors. The library strives to select materials representing all sides of various issues. Because of this, some materials in our collection may be considered controversial by certain groups or individuals. Our goal is to provide materials representing diverse viewpoints in support of our academic offerings and to suit the varied backgrounds of our students, faculty, staff, and adults in the community. Patrons' right to privacy regarding the use and checkout of library materials will be respected.
If any of our users have a complaint regarding any library materials, they may complete a "Request for Reconsideration" (See Attachment 4) form. The Director of Library Services will review complaints. The complaint will receive a written copy regarding the decision of the challenged material.
Brazosport College supports copyright law stated in the Copyright Act of 1976 as amended. The library also recognizes "fair use" by educational institutions. All holdings will be acquired and managed to conform to current copyright law. Notices will be posted in appropriate locations to inform patrons of their responsibilities relative to copyright law.
The library received funding from the college to purchase or provide access to new materials in both print and electronic media formats. Grants, gifts, and purchases may supplement these resources by other college department accounts.
The library has no specific budget allocation for individual disciplines. This allows greater flexibility in meeting unanticipated needs, such as departmental program changes or increased patron demand in a subject area. The library attempts, as funds allow, to assist the research needs of its faculty and students, both through the purchase of materials, interlibrary loan services, and through use of the print and electronic resources. The library attempts in a limited way to provide for the recreational and enrichment needs of the campus community through small collections of popular reading, media, and mass-market periodicals. Materials will be evaluated for purchase according to basic principles of selection enumerated later.
The Brazosport College Library upholds the principles of the American Library Association's "Library Bill of Rights" statement:
The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas and that the following basic policies should guide their services:
Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people in the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting the abridgment of free expression and free access to ideas. A person's right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, age, background, or views. Libraries that make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs of individuals or groups requesting their use.
The Library strives to select materials representing many sides of various issues without endorsing any positions. Our goal is to provide materials representing diverse viewpoints to support the College's academic offerings and to suit the diverse backgrounds of our students, faculty, and staff.
Some materials we acquire may present topics, perspectives, or viewpoints considered controversial by certain groups or individuals. If users have a complaint regarding specific library materials they may contact a librarian in person or in writing. The librarian, along with other library staff will review the request and make a decision regarding the challenged material.
In recognition of its role as a general cultural resource for the campus community, and its duty to provide for the well-rounded education of its students by giving them access to all the significant works of human thought and achievement, the library collects materials representing diverse cultural traditions. In addition, the library selects some materials which are outside the scope of the college's curriculum. Such materials are chosen very selectively; the primary consideration being their value as an introduction to an important area of human endeavor, diversity, equity, and inclusion. All collection development criteria developed beyond this policy must be approved by the Library Director.
with policy guidance from Rebecca Crown Library at Dominican University
De-selection is the removal of materials from the library collection that are no longer needed or viable. It is a standard practice in managing a library’s collection. De-selection is important in keeping a collection vibrant, relevant, and usable. It also assists in preventing stacks from becoming overcrowded and helps make remaining materials more visible and accessible.
The Library may, at its sole discretion, remove and withdraw monographs and any other materials (e.g., non-book print items, manuscript materials, electronic resources, analog media, and photographs) based on the criteria identified below.
Library subject specialists shall review, evaluate, and de-select materials in the collection on a regular basis to ensure collection vitality. Aside from this routine de-selection, other, more substantial projects may be undertaken. Instructional faculty may be consulted regarding larger-scale projects.
Materials that are withdrawn from the collection will be subject to all Brazosport College and State of Texas policies addressing property disposition.
The following criteria will be used to help determine which materials should be withdrawn from the collection. In all cases, the library subject specialist will weigh these criteria against their own subject and collection area knowledge.
Physical condition: Missing pages, unreadable text, water damage, poor paper quality, musty, beyond repair, or other factors that prohibit re-binding.
Superseded editions: Earlier editions not containing unique information or data, unless it provides a historical reference not available in the most current edition.
Duplicate titles: Unless demand exists for multiple copies.
Other formats: Materials available in other formats in the library or online may be deselected, especially when they are low use and not rare.
Out of scope/Superfluous Subjects: No longer relevant to the Brazosport College curriculum. Item has very little or no apparent relevance to current or anticipated college programs.
Currency: Items that appear outdated based on the subject and scope of the work.
Reliability: Items whose validity or accuracy have been disproven.
Multi-volume sets: Individual items under consideration for deselection should not be removed from multi-volume sets. Either the entire set should be deselected or all items in the set should be retained.
Frequency of use: Circulation and other statistics may be examined. Items that are not in demand may be eligible for deselection.
Portions of this policy are adapted from the State University of New York, Stony Brook Libraries.
The CREW method for maintaining a library's collection has been the benchmark tool for weeding since its inception over 30 years ago. The Texas State Library and Archives Commission guided librarians and staff in small and medium-sized libraries about how to cull outdated and no longer useful materials from their collections.
CREW stands for Continuous Review, Evaluation, and Weeding. This method has proven highly successful among library professionals and is an integral part many collection management policies for weeding. Please note that these criteria are for smaller libraries that normally do not primarily identify as research facilities.
M = Misleading (and/or factually inaccurate)
U = Ugly (worn and beyond mending or rebinding)
S = Superseded (by a truly new edition or by a much better book on the subject)
T = Trivial (of no discernable literary or scientific merit; usually of ephemeral interest at some time in the past)
I = Irrelevant to the needs and interests of your community
E = The material or information may be obtained expeditiously Elsewhere through interlibrary loan, reciprocal borrowing, or in electronic format
CREW: A Weeding Manual for Modern Libraries.
http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/ld/pubs/crew Texas State Library and Archives Commission page 47 of 93
Weeding/De-selection Guidelines
Weeding is an essential component of any collection development plan in order to maintain a collection that meets the needs of students and the curriculum. The weeding guidelines should include reasons for weeding and criteria for de-selection. The following points may be used as the foundation for weeding guidelines:
You NEED to Weed .. .. ..
Also consider:
Length of time since the book was last checked out (on average 5 years)
Age of the book in terms of copyright date (on average 5 years, although age is more important in certain disciplines than other, i.e., medical, legal, current events, and technology need to be very current)
Condition of the book
< Please Note >
The TSLAC report guidelines are written to address the public and state library collections organized by their Dewey Classification.
000 Generalities 100 Philosophy and Psychology 200 Religion and Mythology 300 Social Sciences 400 Language 500 Natural Sciences 600 Technology, Applied Sciences 700 The Arts 800 Literature 900 History and Geography
