Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Partnering with many of the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference material. By using unique proprietary technology that integrates information through a network of intelligent, multi-dimensional cross-references, Credo Reference delivers real added value to students, researchers, businesses and reference help desks worldwide.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, education, the gaming industry, religion, folklore, economic development, acculturation, mythology, missions, tribal governments, and ethnohistory.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
The EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 300,000 eBooks covering a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. This database allows you to search all eBooks available through the library's EBSCO eBook subscriptions as well as all eBooks the library has purchased from EBSCO. Most of the eBooks in this database are available with unlimited user access.
The EBSCO eBooks Libguide offers short video tutorials and helpful hints to help you get the most out of this resource.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy is a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
How to Use Academic Search Complete
Start by going to the BC Library Website:
Once you are there, scroll down to "About the Library," and click "A-Z Databases" under the Library hours of operation.
It will take you to our A-Z Databases list. Scroll down slightly and click on, "Academic Search Complete."
It will you to a page that looks like this:
See "Refine Results" to get an understanding of the filters you can apply to narrow your results.
Be sure to read the abstracts to determine the relevance of the articles before accessing the full text.
Also, ensure the source is scholarly and peer-reviewed, especially for academic research related assignments.
Click on "PDF Full-Text" under the article to view the full text. You can often download it as a PDF or read it online.
Use the database’s tools to save and organize articles. You can create a folder within Academic Search Complete to keep track of your research.
Use the citation tools provided to export citations in various formats (in this case, Chicago Style). This helps in managing references for your assignment. Be sure that the citation you pull from the database follows the Chicago Style Citation guidelines. You can open the tab "Chicago Style- Citations" off to to left side of this LibGuide in case you aren't familiar.
Should you need additional help, call the Reference Desk at 979-230-3406 to speak to one of our librarians, or feel free to schedule an appointment with one of our librarians: Schedule a Consultation.
BC Library Podcast Room
The designated BC Library Podcast Room is Study Room E, located behind the rows of computers on the far left end of the Brazosport College Library.
The BC Library Podcast Room can be booked through our Online Booking System.
See the video below on how to book Study Room E/Podcast Room:
Should you need additional assistance getting familiar with the technology in the room, you can schedule an appointment with Brent Cooper at the time of reservation.
The Podcast Handbook by 
Podcasting for Dummies by