This serves as a library guide for your English 1301 course (Dr. Shaun Clarkson). Through the narrative, links and videos found in this guide, students will recognize library services/ resources as well as better comprehend the search techniques/ strategies needed to conduct college level research required for course assignments/ projects. Should you need librarian assistance, look to the left (Contact Us) for open library hours for in person assistance. Further down find contact information for phone, chat and email should you prefer assistance off campus. On the Assignments page (under Research & Instruction Librarian) you will find a tab to email the Librarian (Brent Cooper) assigned to this course along with another tab to set up an on-campus (in the BC Library) or online (via Zoom) appointment with a BC Librarian.
MLA Handbook- Ninth Ed. by Academic Video Online delivers approximately 68,000 streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Partnering with many of the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference material. By using unique proprietary technology that integrates information through a network of intelligent, multi-dimensional cross-references, Credo Reference delivers real added value to students, researchers, businesses and reference help desks worldwide.
The EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 300,000 eBooks covering a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. This database allows you to search all eBooks available through the library's EBSCO eBook subscriptions as well as all eBooks the library has purchased from EBSCO. Most of the eBooks in this database are available with unlimited user access.
The EBSCO eBooks Libguide offers short video tutorials and helpful hints to help you get the most out of this resource.
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 58 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages and all types of materials ranging from stone tablets to electronic books. WorldCat is updated daily and is now easier to search than ever. Recent enhancements include the ability to search by Library of Congress or Dewey Decimal Classification numbers, and to limit searches by material types, audiences and material formats. WorldCat includes information from before 1,000 BC to the present with thousands of records containing evaluative content such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries and notes about the authors. It uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings as its thesaurus. Items found in here not available in the BC Library Collection can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.