LibGuides: History 1302- Petrovich: Assignments

Resources for the Doughnut Girls Research Paper and Further Research assignment

Click the below icon to open the tutorial

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers approximately 68,000 streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find current and diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
From the home page, scroll down to see suggested topics and quick links.
America's News This link opens in a new window
News of local interest happens everywhere, from small towns to big cities across the United States. America's News provides access to information on people, issues and events in the local area and around the country. This comprehensive resource offers hundreds of millions of current and archived full-text articles from news sources nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the electronic editions of more than 2,400 U.S. news sources with more than 70% of these sources not available in any other library database.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate. Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives, including rare collections not accessible anywhere else. New contributions are added regularly.

Artstor also offers a growing number of public collections cataloged, managed, and shared by institutions using JSTOR Forum.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 300,000 eBooks covering a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. This database allows you to search all eBooks available through the library's EBSCO eBook subscriptions as well as all eBooks the library has purchased from EBSCO. Most of the eBooks in this database are available with unlimited user access.
The EBSCO eBooks Libguide offers short video tutorials and helpful hints to help you get the most out of this resource.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service that offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health and medicine; humanities and social sciences; science and mathematics; business and economics, as well as archival films and newsreels.
One Search/Gator Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Current Brazosport College students, faculty, and staff can obtain a complimentary digital subscription to the New York Times with an Academic Pass provided by the BC Library. To claim your pass, click the link to the New York Times above.
Once you have an active pass, you will be able to use The New York Times website and apps from anywhere with the email and password used to create your account, without first connecting through the library.
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

BC Library Online Catalog- Enterprise
Holdings for the BC Library
Databases
The library subscribes to well over 150 databases. These resources contain controlled, credible content coming from books, journals, magazines and newspapers
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.
Library of Congress
Today's Library of Congress is an unparalleled world resource. The collection of more than 173 million items includes more than 51 million cataloged books and other print materials in 470 languages; more than 75 million manuscripts; the largest rare book collection in North America; and the world's largest collection of legal materials, films, maps, sheet music and sound recordings.
Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex. We are a community of learning and an opener of doors. Join us on a voyage of discovery. Explore our vast digital resources and learn online.

Assignment Sheet- Research Assignment- Fall 2024
Notes the research requirements of the Doughnut Girls Research Paper

Sources

Don't Forget The Salvation Army: My Doughnut Girl
Robert Brown, William Frisch, Leffingwell, and James Lucas. Don’t Forget The Salvation Army: My Doughnut Girl. Sheet Music. New York: Broadway Music Corporation, 1919. https://jstor.org/stable/community.31752418.
The doughnut girl
Words by Charles S. Nuller ; music by Leo Friedman. Sheet music and photo
She's the girl that cooked the doughnuts for the boys of Uncle Sam
Words by Mell Faris ; music by Helen Bates Faris. Sheet music

Biro, Liz. 2014. “Indiana Native Inspired Tradition as Doughnut Girl.” The Indianapolis Star, December 6.

Bessette, Claire. 2021. "Norwich program Saturday honors WWI Doughnut Girls." Day [New London, CT], June 2.

Lollar, Michael. 2013. “Memphis’ Gertrude Purdue Spent a Century in Salvation Army Service .” Commercial Appeal, The (Memphis, TN), June 4.

Mikles, Natalie. 2011. “Doughnut Day Recalls WWI ‘Lassies.’” Tulsa World (OK), May 30.

Moser, Erica. 2021. “Reenactors in Norwich Recognize Role of Doughnuts in World War I.” The Day (New London, CT), June 6.

Pickels, Mary. 2015. “Hempfield Woman Donates Music Inspired by WWI ‘Doughnut Girls.’” Tribune-Review (Greensburg, PA), July 4.

"OFFICIAL WORLD WAR I RECIPE: SALVATION ARMY DOUGHNUTS." States News Service, June 1, 2017.

"Salvation Army celebrates Doughnut Girls." Oak Bay News [Victoria, British Columbia], June 1, 2018.

"The Salvation Army Serves Up Famous Doughnut -- Available in Ralphs Stores Now!; The Salvation Army ``Doughnut Girl'' Was a Welcome Sight to Servicemen Overseas During World War I." Business Wire, August 16, 2004.

"Soldiers find doughnuts a real salvation." Mercury [Hobart, Tasmania, Australia], May 18, 2000.

Doughnut Girl of Argonne' Dies
New York Times
March 25, 1952
PAGE NUMBER 27
Aiken, Cloris (Doughnut Girl obituary) primary document
World War I Doughnut Girl Honored in Duffy Sq.
New York Times
September 15, 1967
PAGE NUMBER 63
Mcintyre, Irene (Doughnut Girl) primary document

U. W. W. Rally in Alumni Hall
Trinity College (Hartford, Connecticut, USA). “The Trinity Tripod 1918-11-19.” Trinity Tripod 15, no. 7 (November 19, 1918). https://jstor.org/stable/community.29391510.

The doughnut sweethearts: the diary of Alice McAllister during World War I. by McAllister, Alice
Call Number: D640.M33 2012
ISBN: 9780976846567
Publication Date: 2012
"This booklet is the original journal of one doughnut girl, Alice McAllister, who joined the 1st Division of the American Expeditionary Forces and was sworn into the U.S. Army as a private the only way she could volunteer on the front lines of World War I. With guitars in hand, Alice and her sister Violet McAllister performed for the troops, set broken bones and immunized for tetanus, but they became known for a simple luxury while at war the doughnut. They made do with the simplest of supplies a grape juice bottle for rolling pin, tin cans to cut the shape, a coffee percolator tube to make the hole. The day a line of 800 from the 26th Division lined up for the first 150 [doughnuts], they knew they had found their calling, Judy Vaughn wrote in The Bells of San Francisco. The diary is now presented with clarification from Mildred Mendell (the McAllister's niece) after a first transcription by William Francis. According to The Salvation Army s officer records, Alice McAllister served on the front lines in France from March 31 to November 1, 1918, and again from February 8 to September 26, 1919. She was later commissioned in the Eastern Territory, and eventually served in the West"--Publisher's description.
Insane: the stories of crazy salvos who changed the world by Munn, Nealson Martin
Call Number: BX9715.M86 2007
ISBN: 9780958599160
Publication Date: 2007
Mile end waste: how William and Catherine Booth took the gospel from the sanctuary to the street -- My best men are women: how female leaders shaped the Salvation Army -- Get into their skins: how Frederick Booth-Tucker revised the missionary's job description -- The maiden tribute of Modern Babylon: how the Salvation Army and the press collaborted against child prostitution -- In darkest England and the way out: how William Booth fused evangelism with social action -- Lights in darkest England: how the Salvation Army launched a war on sweated labour and phossy jaw -- Soldiers of the cross: how the Salvation Army took Australia to the movies -- Hamodava: how the Salvation Army put the tea in 'charity' -- Marching as to war: how doughnut girls brought hope to the trenches -- An open secret: how the Salvation Army brought hope to the trenches -- Insane: how today's crazy Salvos are changing the world.
American Women in World War I by Lettie Gavin
Call Number: D639.W7.G38 1997
ISBN: 9780870814327
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
eBook- https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=5128&site=ehost-live
As a result of Gavin's research, hundreds of American women who served in WW I have been identified. Through the use of diaries and memoirs, as well as official records and institutional accounts, Gavin permits the women themselves to describe their experiences, many as nurses and clerks attached to military units. Less well known are the stories of 450 Army Signal Corps "Hello Girls" and 300 reconstruction aides (occupational and physical therapists) who went overseas. Under military control, women of the YMCA, the Red Cross, and the Salvation Army provided nursing and social services for the troops in Europe. Additionally, the Red Cross "searcher's service" communicated for the soldiers and helped track comrades missing or fallen in action, while Salvation Army workers baked hundreds of pies and doughnuts behind the lines in France. The appendix lists all women casualties and those decorated. Photographs used throughout the text are outstanding. This study is a good chronicle of women's participation in the war effort. The full story, pulling together the complex meanings of their experiences, remains to be written, but anyone who takes on that task might well begin with Gavin's book.
Blood and Fire by Roy Hattersley
Call Number: BX9743.B7.H38 2000
ISBN: 9780385494397
Publication Date: 2000-05-16
Blood and Fireis a brilliant biography of two great social and religious figures whose inheritance lives on to this day. William Booth (1829-1912) was one of the most extraordinary men of his age, a pawnbroker's clerk who would found the most successful religious movement of the nineteenth century--the Salvation Army. As a twenty-year-old, he developed the unshakable belief that God had ordained him to convert the world to Christianity. Convinced that both churches of Victorian England were ignoring the needs of the poor, he founded the East London Christian Mission. As the mission became the Salvation Army, it recruited thousands of members in battalions around the globe. Its membership is now in the hundreds of thousands in virtually every country. Catherine, his wife, was in many ways even more exceptional. A chronic invalid and mother of eight children (within ten years), she inspired the social policy that was, and remains, an essential part of the Salvation Army's success. Catherine held ideas on social equality that were ahead of her time, and she encouraged the Army to accept "women's ministry" and give female officers authority over men. Her campaign against child prostitution resulted in the age of consent being raised from thirteen to sixteen. And it was Catherine who, even while dying of cancer, urged William to develop his plans for clearing the Victorian slums. Blood and Fireis a brilliant account of a fascinating period of social history.
A Gentle War by Lawrence Fellows; Janet Beller (Photographer)
Call Number: BX9715.F44
ISBN: 9780027344301
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Examines the history, goals, and work of the Salvation Army.
In Uncle Sam's Service by Susan Zeiger
Call Number: D810.W7.Z44 2004
ISBN: 9780812218756
Publication Date: 2004-05-18
During World War I, the first U.S. war in which women were mobilized by the armed services on a mass scale, more than sixteen thousand female personnel served overseas with the American Expeditionary Force. Elite society women--the so-called heiress corps--have dominated the popular perception of women's service ever since. But Susan Zeiger shows that the majority of these female nurses, clerical workers, telephone operators, and canteen workers were wage-earners whose motives for enlistment ranged from patriotism to economic self-interest, from a sense of adventure to a desire to challenge gender boundaries. In exploring women's experience of war, Zeiger draws from a wealth of diaries, letters, questionnaires, oral histories, and memoirs, as well as army records. She analyzes the ways women's wartime service brought to light contradictions in prevailing gender relations at the height of the campaign for women's suffrage, and she places the stories of servicewomen in the broader context of women's employment in the early twentieth century. At a time when women sought to expand their personal opportunities, Zeiger argues, the government, determined to contain the disruption to the gender status quo, created a separate, subordinate status for women in the military, attempting to "domesticate" and reinscribe them within conventional roles.
Marching to Glory by Edward H. McKinley
Call Number: BX9716.M32 1980
ISBN: 9780060655389
Publication Date: 1980-04-01
A partisan chronicle, as colorful, brisk, and naively appealing as an old-time Salvation Army parade. McKinley (Corps Sergeant-Major) teaches History at Asbury College in Wilmore, Ky., which is unofficially affiliated with the Army, and he makes no bones about his commitment to this unique battalion of the Church Militant. But he's also a serious historian, honest enough to describe the Army's weaknesses (complacent support of the social order whose victims it rescued, destructive dynastic feuds among the offspring of the astonishing Gen. William Booth, a penchant for ""hallelujah buffoonery""), its defeats (few black officers, dwindling conversions, poor adaptation to the post-WW II urban scene), and its bleak future prospects. McKinley recounts the fortunes of the Army as an institution in rich and sometimes overwhelming detail. He dwells on the trials of the 1880s and 1890s, when the Army was desperately poor and frequently harassed by rowdies and respectable citizens alike. He savors the triumph of the Army ""lasses"" in France in 1917-18, when their ministrations of doughnuts and TLC made them an instant legend. And, unfortunately, he examines every aspect of Army music with loving meticulousness. On the other hand, McKinley spends very little time analyzing the social and psychological make-up of Army converts, or the reasons--other than the corps' phenomenal energy--for its early success. But if he is silent, his data are not, and they suggest that the Army is doomed. Active members of the Army probably number fewer than 100,000 today: the vacuum it once filled in American life is now being filled by the welfare state, community organizations, and the more traditional churches. Marching bands of ""single-minded zealots"" are retreating in the face of greater sophistication, religious and otherwise. Still, the Army has been a vital and (if only by accident) innovative force in the past 100 years--and this book is a fine introduction to it.
Red-Hot and Righteous by Diane H. Winston
Call Number: BX9718.N7.W56 1999
ISBN: 9780674867062
Publication Date: 1999-05-30
eBook- https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=282125&site=ehost-live
In this study of religion, urban life, and commercial culture, Diane Winston shows how a militant Protestant mission established a beachead in the modern city. When The Salvation Army, a British evangelical movement, landed in New York in 1880, local citizens called its eye-catching advertisements vulgar and dubbed its brass bands, female preachers, and overheated services sensationalist. Yet a little more than a century later, this missionary movement had evolved into the nation's largest charitable fund-raiser - the very exemplar of America's most cherished values of social service and religious committment.

Fires of faith: the romance of a Salvation Army lassie
by Charles Kenmore Ulrich ; illustrated with scenes from the photoplay produced and copyrighted by the Famous Players-Lasky Corporation. Published:New York : Grosset & Dunlap Publishers, c1919.
The War Romance of the Salvation Army
Booth, Evangeline, and Grace Livingston Hill. The war romance of the Salvation Army. [Philadelphia, London, J.B. Lippincott Company, 1919] Pdf.

Dig into the delicious history of Donut Day with Dr. Chris Cantwell, Assistant Professor of History and Religious Studies at UMKC, who will discuss The Salvation Army’s humanitarian role in World War I. Major Evie Diaz, Divisional Commander of The Salvation Army, Kansas and Western Missouri, joins Dr. Cantwell for conversation and questions from the audience. Recorded June 4, 2015 in J.C. Nichols Auditorium at the National World War I Museum and Memorial.

In April 1918, a young woman from Montclair, N.J., sailed to France to begin work as a canteen worker for the YMCA. From the early days of American involvement in the Great War, she had wanted to do her part and even confessed that she wished that she “had been a man to have a small part in this great conflict.” This presentation considers the experiences of the 3,500 women like her who served coffee and donuts to doughboys across France, and in the process, began a long history of American women going to war to bring a bit of home to the front lines.

Dr. Kara Dixon Vuic, LCpl Benjamin W. Schmidt Professor of War, Conflict, and Society in Twentieth-Century America at Texas Christian University.

Lecture given as part of the National WWI Museum and Memorial's 2018 Symposium, 1918: Crucible of War.

More Snack Food Tech. Films On Demand. 2005. Accessed November 29, 2022. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=18161&xtid=205809.

During World War 1, the Salvation Army sent a group of courageous women to the front lines to provide comfort, support, and hope to the American soldiers. Journey Indiana

In 1957 reporters with WBAP attended a VFW convention in Dallas where they met L.J. Smith, a 66 year old WWI veteran who was displaying a rather unique souvenir from WWI — a doughnut. During WWI doughnuts and coffee were distributed along the front lines to soldiers by the Salvation Army. During one of these coffee breaks Mr. Smith decided to save one of the doughnuts, and miraculously it survived for over 38 years! In this brief film clip he displays the doughnut-artifact under a glass dome. Video footage from the WBAP-TV station in Fort Worth, Texas, to accompany a news story about a thirty-eight year old doughnut that has been preserved by L. J. Smith.

Doughnut History
Huell Howser visits the Salvation Army for a lesson in donut history, which begins on the battlefields of World War I.

Doughnuts, Salvation Army, and World War I
From Doughnuts and the Salvation Army By Jason Hanratty
A Historical Analysis of the Salvation Army Doughnut Girls in World War I
Link directs you to contact information Librarian Brent Cooper who can provide access. Thesis/dissertation by William Marshall Francis that argues that the growth of the Salvation Army in America was influenced by media coverage of the compassionate service and evangelistic efforts of the Doughnut Girls in France and Germany during World War I.
An Overview of Women’s Suffrage and Women’s Roles In The United States During Both World Wars
Wright, April, "An Overview of Women’s Suffrage and Women’s Roles In The United States During Both World Wars" (2017). Integrated Studies. 38.
https://digitalcommons.murraystate.edu/bis437/38
The Women Who Fried Donuts and Dodged Bombs on the Front Lines of WWI
Even if they had to use shell casings as rolling pins, the donuts still got made

American soldier eating doughnuts made by the Salvation Army out of a large tin
Dennis J. Sullivan Collection (AFC/2001/001/28523), Veterans History Project, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
Hand it to 'em--The Salvation Army gets it to the boys in the trenches, over there
Woman of the Salvation Army carrying food on battlefield.
THE LASSIE WHO FRIED THE FIRST DOUGHNUT IN FRANCE
Image from "The war romance of the Salvation Army"
Oh, boy that's the girl! The Salvation Army lassie--keep her on the job
This poster was created in November of 1918 by George M. Richards and published by the Sackett & Wilhelms Corporation in New York. The poster was sponsored by the Salvation Army, as part of the United War Work Campaign, in order to solicit donations and encourage women to continue joining the Salvation Army as the Great War came to an end. The poster features a young, beautiful woman with a wide smile carrying a tray of doughnuts, standing behind a soldier. The soldier gestures back at the young woman approvingly as he takes a bite from a doughnut. The poster was meant to stress the importance of the support work the Salvation Army Lassies did, such as cook for the soldiers, pray for them and write letters back home to their families. The Salvation Army sent roughly 250 volunteers abroad in 1917 to provide emotional and spiritual support for American soldiers in France, and their allies. They set up huts near the front lines and frequently served hot coffee and fried doughnuts in soldiers’ helmets, earning the nickname “Doughnut Lassies” in the process, as evidenced on this poster.
Our doughnut girl Doughnuts in the trenches.
Photograph shows young female Salvation Army worker holding a basin full of doughnuts.
Salvation Army Frying Doughnuts
Image from the National Museum of American History
Salvation Army women frying doughnuts for soldiers
Dennis J. Sullivan Collection (AFC/2001/001/28523), Veterans History Project, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
Soldiers eating doughnuts made by the Salvation Army near the front trenches
Dennis J. Sullivan Collection (AFC/2001/001/28523), Veterans History Project, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
Two Salvation Army women kneading dough for doughnuts
Dennis J. Sullivan Collection (AFC/2001/001/28523), Veterans History Project, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
Salvation Army girl turns out doughnut
Salvation Army girl turns out doughnuts. https://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001670635.
United War-Work
United War Work Campaign, Inc.. United War-Work. War Posters. Place: University of Minnesota Libraries. https://library.artstor.org/asset/AMINNESOTAIG_10311398379.

Donut Services Hits Close to Home.
The article discusses the services offered by the Salvation Army during World War I to American Expeditionary Forces.
Free Doughnuts (With A Side Of Sales Tax Trivia) On National Doughnut Day
The article offers information on the history of the National Doughnut Day in the U.S. Topics discussed include the support provided by Salvation Army, a volunteer group, to the U.S. soldiers fighting in France during World War I, the supply of Doughnuts to the soldiers by the volunteers, and the sales tax in the U.S. on the sales of Doughnuts.
Erb, Kelly Phillips. 2017. “Free Doughnuts (With A Side Of Sales Tax Trivia) On National Doughnut Day.” Forbes.Com, June, 1. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=heh&AN=123441085&site=eds-live.
General Pershing Memorialized for Bringing Doughnut Girls to the Front.
The article reports that the Salvation Army paid tribute at grave of General John J. Pershing, commander of the American Expeditionary Force (AEF) during the First World War, and mentions that Commissioner David Jeffrey memorialized the man.
Duracher, Major Frank. 2017. “General Pershing Memorialized for Bringing Doughnut Girls to the Front.” War Cry 137 (12): 38. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pwh&AN=131725378&site=eds-live.
Pies and Doughnuts in the Trenches
The Ladies' home journal. September 1918. page 21. From HathiTrust.org
Ring king
Discusses the history of the doughnut. Mention of Ring King Jr., once America's most advanced automatic doughnut maker, who made Krispy Kreme doughnuts; Pastry made by Elizabeth Gregory, a New England ship captain's mother; The popularity of doughnuts during World War I; The spread of the Krispy Kreme stores in the United States.
SALVATION ARMY WEEK: A PRIMER.
Duracher, Major Frank. 2022. “Salvation Army Week: A Primer.” War Cry 142 (5): 26–27. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=pwh&AN=156885541&site=eds-live.

Student Doughnut GIrls Papers (by subject)

Doughnut Girl Project - Posters

Recipes_Doughnut Girl Research Project