Snapshot of Library Resources by General Discipline

Brazosport College Library offers a wide array of e-books that support the diverse academic disciplines at the college, providing credible and scholarly content for teaching and research.

• Course Integration:
  • Faculty can link e-books directly in D2L or make them accessible through a course-specific LibGuide.
  • This integration ensures that students have easy access to essential reading materials.
• Unlimited Access:
  • Most e-book titles offer unlimited user access, allowing all students in a course to read the materials simultaneously.
  • This feature is particularly beneficial for faculty who want to keep costs down for students.
• Academic Support and Citations:
  • Many e-books come with built-in citation tools for MLA, APA, or Chicago styles, though they may require some adjustments.
  • Librarians are available to assist students in refining citations to meet academic standards.
  • Librarian support is available for both faculty and students, offering guidance on using e-books and other library resources.
• Requesting Additional E-books:
  • Faculty can request specific e-book titles not currently in our collection to better meet the needs of their curriculum.
  • The library is open to acquiring new resources to support the academic community.
• Librarian Assistance:
  • Librarians are committed to supporting faculty and students with personalized assistance for research projects or coursework.
  • Faculty and students are encouraged to reach out for help with any library resources or research needs.

Brazosport College Library offers a comprehensive array of database collections that provide credible academic content across various disciplines. Here is an overview of the library's offerings and how they can support faculty and students:

• Diverse Database Collections:
  • The library provides access to a wide range of databases, including both content-specific databases and those that cover multiple disciplines. This ensures that faculty and students can find relevant resources for their specific fields of study.
• Integration with D2L and LibGuides:
  • Faculty can easily link database resources within D2L or incorporate them into course-specific LibGuides, enhancing the accessibility of academic materials for students.
• Citation Support:
  • Many resources within the databases come with pre-formatted citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago styles. While these citations may require some adjustments, librarians are available to assist students in refining them.
• Unlimited Access:
  • Most of the content available in these databases is offered with unlimited access, allowing all students in a course to utilize the resources simultaneously without restrictions.
• Librarian Assistance:
  • Librarians are available to support students' research needs through various means:
    • Class visits to provide in-person guidance.
    • Video presentations for online courses.
    • Embedding within D2L to contribute to discussions and answer questions.
    • Offering one-on-one consultations, either in person at the library or virtually via Zoom.
• Cross-Searching Capabilities:
  • Many of the databases can be cross-searched using ONE SEARCH/ GATOR SEARCH , facilitating a more efficient and comprehensive search experience for users.

Brazosport College Library is committed to supporting the academic success of its faculty and students by providing robust resources and personalized assistance. Faculty are encouraged to leverage these resources to enhance their teaching and support their students' learning experiences.

The BC Library offers a comprehensive selection of streaming video collections that cover a wide array of academic disciplines available at Brazosport College. These collections are tailored to provide credible and academically vetted content (Swank is a warehouse of Hollywood movies, so content is mainly for entertainment value).

• Integration with D2L and LibGuides: Faculty can seamlessly integrate these streaming videos into their courses by linking them directly in D2L (many have LTI links) or making them accessible through course-specific LibGuides. This ensures that students can easily access the required content.
• Permanent Links for Reliable Access: Unlike YouTube links, which may change or become unavailable due to copyright restrictions, the videos in our library streaming platforms come with permanent links. This better guarantees that students will have consistent access to the content throughout the course duration.
• Credibility and Accuracy: The content available on our streaming platforms is thoroughly vetted for accuracy, providing a more reliable source of information compared to some YouTube content, which may not always be credible.
• Citation Assistance: Many of the videos come with built-in citation options in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. While these citations may require some adjustments, our librarians are available to assist students in refining them to meet academic standards.
• Unlimited Access for Students: Most of the content in these databases is available for unlimited use, allowing all students in a course to access the materials simultaneously without any restrictions.
• Librarian Support: Our librarians are ready to assist both students and faculty in navigating these platforms and finding the appropriate content to support their academic needs.

The Brazosport College Library boasts a comprehensive collection of print books that span across various academic disciplines, ensuring that faculty and students have access to credible and scholarly content essential for academic success.

• Support for Academic Pursuits: The library's primary mission is to support the academic endeavors of students and faculty by providing a thoughtfully curated collection of materials. This includes not only books but also access to databases, journals, and multimedia resources.
• Library Catalog: Faculty can easily search and locate books, media, and other materials through the library's comprehensive catalog. This organized database helps in efficiently finding the required academic resources.
• LibGuides and Research Support: The library offers LibGuides which provide valuable support and guidance, recommending books and library resources tailored to specific subjects. These guides are instrumental for both students and instructors in navigating and utilizing library resources effectively.
• Reserve Collection: The library's Reserve Collection includes textbooks from many BC courses, which faculty can contribute to. This ensures that essential reading materials are readily available to students, supporting their coursework and research needs.
• Library Services and Resources: The library provides a diverse range of services including research support, online guides, and learning resources. Faculty can utilize these resources to enhance their teaching and support their students' learning experiences.
• Access to Electronic Resources: In addition to print books, the library provides access to a wide array of electronic resources, including e-books and academic journals. This ensures that faculty and students have 24/7 access to essential academic materials.
• Engagement and Community Building: The library hosts various events and activities that foster a sense of community and encourage learning and discovery, providing opportunities for cultural enrichment and academic growth.
• Personalized Assistance: The knowledgeable library staff are always ready to assist faculty and students with their information needs, offering expertise and personalized guidance to make the most of the library's resources