LibGuides: Humanities 1301- Campbell: Mini Research Assignment- Online Course

Video detailing how to engage with a Librarian for the Huma 1301 Mini Research Assignment

The mini-research assignment requires you work with a librarian. Watch the video in the "Engaging with a Librarian" tab and choose one of the two options listed below. This interaction must take place by March 30th.

If you would like Librarian assistance with the research for this assignment, please schedule an appointment (Zoom or on campus visit) to consult with a Librarian. The Librarian will help with finding the required sources for your research and note this interaction on a Google Doc created by your instructor.

Those experienced with college level research can provide their completed Works Cited page to a Librarian via schedule an appointment (Zoom or on campus visit) after viewing the Researching the Mini Assignment (topic #1, #2 or #3) video found on the Mini Research Assignment page. WE STRONGLY ADVISE THOSE CHOOSING THIS OPTION TO CAREFULLY REVIEW THE ACCEPTED/ NOT ACCEPTED SOURCES NOTED IN THE ASSIGNMENT SHEET. Be sure to submit the Works Cited in the Your Details form when confirming your appointment. The selected Librarian will appraise your Works Cited PRIOR to the scheduled appointment and those with a Works Cited deemed as acceptable 1) will be notified that the scheduled appointment has been cancelled and 2) have the Librarian interaction noted on the Google Doc created by your instructor. If your appointment is not cancelled, you should assume your Works Cited was deemed unacceptable and proceed with the scheduled appointment at which point the Librarian will provide a review of the submitted Works Cited along with research assistance. Following the appointment, the librarian will note the interaction on the Google Doc created by your instructor.

Video detailing steps to researching Topic #1 (Music in the Romantic Age) for the Huma 1301 Mini Research Assignment

Listen to Franz Schubert’s art song The Erlking and read the poetic text that accompanies it.

Video detailing steps to researching Topic #2 (Human Expression of the Human Form) for the Huma 1301 Mini Research Assignment

Video detailing steps to researching Topic #3 (Messaging in Art) for the Huma 1301 Mini Research Assignment

Using Pre-Research to Understand Your Topic (video)
Reminds students to make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic.
AND
Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source™ covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Art & Architecture Source was developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Information Services and H.W. Wilson, and includes many unique sources that were never previously available. This database offers detailed indexing and abstracts for an international array of journals, books, podcasts and more.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives, including rare collections not accessible anywhere else. New contributions are added regularly.

Artstor also offers a growing number of public collections cataloged, managed, and shared by institutions using JSTOR Forum.

BC Library Online Catalog- Enterprise
Holdings for the BC Library

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Partnering with many of the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference material. By using unique proprietary technology that integrates information through a network of intelligent, multi-dimensional cross-references, Credo Reference delivers real added value to students, researchers, businesses and reference help desks worldwide.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 300,000 eBooks covering a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. This database allows you to search all eBooks available through the library's EBSCO eBook subscriptions as well as all eBooks the library has purchased from EBSCO. Most of the eBooks in this database are available with unlimited user access.
The EBSCO eBooks Libguide offers short video tutorials and helpful hints to help you get the most out of this resource.
One Search/Gator Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The Grove® Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars.
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

Mini Research Assignment- Assignment Sheet