Written by experienced psychology instructors who are active and respected members of the American Psychological Association (APA) Society for the Teaching of Psychology, the updated Third Edition provides a reader-friendly guide for mastering APA style and covers all sections of an APA-style paper. Clear, conversational, and humorous, the book presents easy-to-understand explanations of how to write research papers, term papers, and lab reports, and cite references following APA style and format. The authors focus on the most essential elements of APA style and format, offering useful advice, tips, and visual representations.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.
Writing Papers in APA Style 1. Writing college papers in APA style 1a. Research paper: Literature review 1b. Research paper: Original empirical research 1c. Laboratory report 1d. Analytical essay 1e. Annotated bibliography 1f. Administrative report 1g. Case study 1h. Clinical paper 1i. Professional memo 1j. Reflective essay 1k. Social issue paper 2. Understanding APA conventions 2a. Privileging current sources 2b. Using appropriate tone and language 2c. Avoiding stereotypes, bias, and offensive language 2d. Understanding intellectual property 2e. Collecting and reporting data 2f. Protecting research participants 3. Posing questions to start a paper 3a. Choosing a narrow question 3b. Choosing a challenging question 3c. Choosing a grounded question 4. Finding appropriate sources 4a. Locating reference works 4b. Locating articles 4c. Locating books 4d. Locating other sources online 5. Evaluating sources 5a. Selecting sources 5b. Reading with an open mind and a critical eye 5c. Assessing Web sources with special care 6. Managing information; avoiding plagiarism 6a. Maintaining a working bibliography 6b. Keeping track of source materials 6c. Avoiding unintentional plagiarism as you take notes 7. Supporting a thesis 7a. Forming a working thesis 7b. Testing your thesis 7c. Organizing your ideas 7d. Using sources to inform and support your argument 8. Avoiding plagiarism 8a. Citing quotations and borrowed ideas 8b. Enclosing borrowed language in quotation marks 8c. Putting summaries and paraphrases in your own words 8d. Avoiding self-plagiarism 9. Integrating sources 9a. Using quotations appropriately 9b. Using signal phrases to integrate sources 9c. Synthesizing sources Formatting Papers in APA Style 10. Parts of a paper in APA style 10a. Title page 10b. Abstract 10c. Introduction 10d. Method 10e. Results 10f. Discussion 10g. References 10h. Footnotes 10i. Headings 10j. Appendices 10k. Visuals 11. APA paper format 11a. Formatting the paper 11b. Preparing the list of references 12. Sample pages from papers in APA style 12a. Research paper: Literature review (education) 12b. Research paper: Empirical research (psychology) 12c. Analytical essay (sociology) 12d. Annotated bibliography (economics) 12e. Laboratory report (psychology) 12f. Administrative report (criminology/criminal justice) 12g. Clinical practice paper (nursing) 12h. Reflective essay (education) 12i. Business report 12j. Professional memo (business) 12k. Social issue paper (composition) Documenting Sources in APA Style 13. APA in-text citations 14. APA list of references 14a. General guidelines for listing authors 14b. Articles and other short works 14c. Books and other long works 14d. Web sites and parts of Web sites 14e. Audio, visual, and multimedia sources 14f. Personal communication and social media 15. APA notes 15a. Footnotes in the text 15b. Notes in tables and figures Clarity 16. Tighten wordy sentences. 16a. Redundancies 16b. Empty or inflated phrases 16c. Needlessly complex structures 17. Prefer active verbs. 17a. When to replace be verbs 17b. When to replace passive verbs 18. Balance parallel ideas. 18a. Items in a series 18b. Paired ideas 19. Add needed words. 19a. Words in compound structures 19b. The word that 19c. Words in comparisons 20. Eliminate confusing shifts. 20a. Shifts in point of view 20b. Shifts in tense 21. Untangle mixed constructions. 21a. Mixed grammar 21b. Illogical connections 21c. Is when, is where, and reason . . . is because constructions 22. Repair misplaced and dangling modifiers. 22a. Misplaced words 22b. Misplaced phrases and clauses 22c. Dangling modifiers 22d. Split infinitives 23. Provide sentence variety. 23a. Combining choppy sentences 23b. Varying sentence openings 24. Find an appropriate voice. 24a. Jargon 24b. Clichés 24c. Slang 24d. Sexist language Grammar 25. Make subjects and verbs agree. 25a. Words between subject and verb 25b. Subjects joined with and 25c. Subjects joined with or or nor 25d. Indefinite pronouns such as someone 25e. Collective nouns such as jury 25f. Subject after verb 25g. Who, which, and that 25h. Plural form, singular meaning 25i. Titles, company names, and words mentioned as words 26. Be alert to other problems with verbs. 26a. Irregular verbs 26b. Tense 26c. Mood 27. Use pronouns with care. 27a. Pronoun-antecedent agreement 27b. Pronoun reference 27c. Case of personal pronouns (I vs. me etc.) 27d. Who vs. whom 28. Use adjectives and adverbs appropriately. 28a. Adjectives 28b. Adverbs 28c. Comparatives and superlatives 29. Repair sentence fragments. 29a. Fragmented clauses 29b. Fragmented phrases 29c. Acceptable fragments 30. Revise run-on sentences. 30a. Revision with a comma and a coordinating conjunction 30b. Revision with a semicolon (or a colon or a dash) 30c. Revision by separating sentences 30d. Revision by restructuring the sentence 31. Consider grammar topics for multilingual writers. 31a. Verbs 31b. Articles (a, an, the) 31c. Sentence structure 31d. Prepositions showing time and place Punctuation 32. The comma 32a. Before a coordinating conjunction joining independent clauses 32b. After an introductory word group 32c. Between items in a series 32d. Between coordinate adjectives 32e. To set off a nonrestrictive element, but not a restrictive element 32f. To set off transitional and parenthetical expressions, absolute phrases, and contrasted elements 32g. To set off nouns of direct address, the words yes and no, interrogative tags, and mild interjections 32h. To set off direct quotations introduced with expression such as he argued 32i. With dates, addresses, and titles 32j. Misuses of the comma 33. The semicolon and the colon 33a. The semicolon 33b. The colon 34. The apostrophe 34a. To indicate possession 34b. To mark contractions 34c. Conventional uses 34d. Misuses of the apostrophe 35. Quotation marks 35a. To enclose direct quotations 35b. Around titles of short works 35c. Other punctuation with quotation marks 35d. Misuses of quotation marks 36. Other marks 36a. The period 36b. The question mark 36c. The exclamation point 36d. The dash 36e. Parentheses 36f. Brackets 36g. The ellipsis mark 36h. The slash Mechanics 37. Capitalization 37a. Proper vs. common nouns 37b. Titles with proper names 37c. Titles of works 37d. Special terms 37e. First word of a sentence or quoted sentence 37f. First word following a colon 37g. Abbreviations 38. Abbreviations 38a. Before and after a name 38b. Organizations, companies, countries 38c. Units of measurement and time 38d. Latin abbreviations 38e. Plural of abbreviations 38f. Other uses of abbreviations 38g. Inappropriate abbreviations 39. Numbers 39a. Using numerals 39b. Using words for numbers 40. Italics 40a. Titles of works 40b. Words as words and other uses 40c. Ships, aircraft, spacecraft 40d. Foreign words 41. Spelling 41a. Major spelling rules 41b. Spelling variations 42. Hyphenation 42a. Compound words 42b. Words functioning together as an adjective 42c. Suffixes and prefixes 42d. Hyphenation at ends of lines Glossaries Glossary of usage Glossary of grammatical terms Index Documentation directories Charts and lists for quick reference List of sample pages from student papers Revision symbols
This is a complete revision with new material of the second edition of Social Sciences Research: Research, Writing, and Presentation Strategies for Students (Scarecrow Press, 2008). There have been significant changes in the research process in the social sciences since the second edition of this text was published in 2008 - a decade ago. The plethora of new information technologies (e.g., smart phones, tablets, apps, etc.); the information overload not only on the Internet where anyone can publish, but also with the explosion of social media (e.g., Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc.); as well as the far reaching changes in databases and other sources of electronic information that is available. Complementing the manual are appendixes consisting of a list of possible research questions, an example paper, a complete set of worksheets, and blank citation forms to be used to record references, which provide further practice for students. In this third edition, the author has included more instruction on searches using electronic sources as well as new formatting guidelines that have been promulgated in the past several years. The ideal resource for college students, this manual addresses the finer points of research and writing that are not given enough instruction in the classroom.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Journal article from a Database that does not include a DOI (end the reference after the page range)
Kannan, R. (2020). The Effectiveness of Environmental Laws in Preventing Transboundary Pollution from Oil Drilling in the Arctic. Columbia Journal of Environmental Law, 45(1), 243–286.
Journal article from a Database that includes a DOI
Zhang, Y., Meng-lan, D., Tengfei, S., & Yang-xuan, S. (2018). Application of Fractal Theory in Drillability Evaluation for Off-Shore Oilfields. Chemistry & Technology of Fuels & Oils, 54(4), 509–512. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10553-018-0953-4
Journal article with an article number (if the journal article has an article number instead of a page range, include the word “Article” and then the article number instead of the page range)
Cuellar Sanchez, W. H., Linhares, T. M., Neto, A. B., & Fortaleza, E. L. F. (2017). Passive and semi-active heave compensator: Project design methodology and control strategies. PLoS ONE, 12(8), Article e0183140. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0183140
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Magazine article from a Database that has a DOI
Kerr, R., Kintisch, E., & Stokstad, E. (2010). Will deepwater horizon set a new standard for catastrophe? Science, 328(5979), 674–675. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.328.5979.674
Magazine article from a Database that does not have a DOI (end the reference after the page range)
Walsh, B. (2010). Stopping the oil spill. TIME Magazine, 176(5), 24–27.
Magazine article that does not have a DOI but has a url
Schulman, M. (2019, September 9). Superfans: A love story. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/09/16/superfans-a-love-story
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Newspaper article from a Database that has volume, issue and page numbers
Green, M., & Cama, T. (2018, June 7). Oil group begins new push for offshore drilling. Hill, 25(51), 14–15
Newspaper article from a Database that has either Volume/Issue OR page # (Houston Chronicle/local newspaper example)
Perkins, C. (2020, December 23). Oil drilling off Fla. coast spurs notice. Houston Chronicle (TX), p. B003.
Newspaper article from a Database that does not have volume, issue or page numbers (reference ends with the title of the newspaper).
Mufson, S., & Eilperin, J. (2011, January 11). Oil spill panel recommends tighter rules, money for Gulf Coast. The Washington Post.
Newspaper article from a website
Carey, B. (2019, March 22). Can we get better at forgetting? The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/22/health/memory-forgetting-psychology.html
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Entire book (Print or Electronic)
Manuele, F. A. (2013). On the practice of safety (4th ed.). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
E-book from a database with a stable or permanent url
Tweedale, G. (2000). Magic mineral to killer dust: Turner & Newall and the asbestos hazard. OUP Oxford. http://plainview.brazosport.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=55512&site=eds-live
RefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
Click here to learn how to set up and use your free RefWorks account.