LibGuides: ENGL 1302- Arthur: Literature Essay Assignment

Researching the Lit. Essay Assignment

First two minutes of video is an overview of the LibGuide followed by an overview of the search techniques of the suggested library resources when researching this assignment

One Search/Gator Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 300,000 eBooks covering a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. This database allows you to search all eBooks available through the library's EBSCO eBook subscriptions as well as all eBooks the library has purchased from EBSCO. Most of the eBooks in this database are available with unlimited user access.
The EBSCO eBooks Libguide offers short video tutorials and helpful hints to help you get the most out of this resource.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom’s Literature is rich with relevant content on core authors and works, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more. Students will find exactly what they need for research and deeper learning without having to wade through an uncurated search. Professors will appreciate the thoughtful organization and important assets—including videos, proprietary essay topics and discussion questions, and valuable writing guidance—that can be used in lectures or for independent study.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, ever-growing resource for all aspects of literary research and teaching, Literature Online offers the largest library of works online supported with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. "The home of literature and criticism," this is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 175 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature is an integrated (cross-search)research experience that brings together Gale’s premier literary databases. The cross-search allows researchers of all levels to find a starting point, search across a wide array of materials and points in time, and discover new ways to analyze information.
Currently, users can cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
Gale Literature Criticism – one of the largest, most extensive compilations of literary commentary available
Gale Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
Dictionary of Literary Biography – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
Something About the Author – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
Contemporary Authors – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors

BC Library Online Catalog- Enterprise
Holdings for the BC Library