LibGuides: ENGL 1302- Arthur: Research Film Project

Researching the Research Film Project

Reviews the suggested library resources and search strategies when researching the Research Film Project- ENGL 1302 Arthur

Library Databases

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts is a periodical database that places articles in the hands of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
One Search/Gator Search This link opens in a new window
Search many of the BC Library's subscription databases with "One Search".
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more.
Power Search (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

AI Research Assistant

Elicit
Elicit is an AI research assistant. We use generative AI and language models to automate research tasks. Currently, we’re focused on finding and analyzing academic papers.

Search Engine

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

The New York Times Book of Movies by Wallace Schroeder (Editor); A. O. Scott (Selected by); Manohla Dargis (Selected by)
Call Number: PN1995.C343 2019
ISBN: 9780789336576
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
While critiques of beloved Hollywood milestones from Stanley Kubrick, Steven Spielberg, Alfred Hitchcock, and Orson Welles are all included, this book is notably a resource for the modern cinema buff and student. Nowhere else can one find this curated collection of reviews with such special features as lists of best films by category and year, as well as unique recommendations and sidebars for the modern viewer - including what to watch and how: from DVD and Blu-Ray to streaming platforms. In an era when most students and fans of film simply rely on the Internet for information, this category killer will prove its worth as a relevant and indispensable gift and reference.

Research Film Project- Assignment Sheet
Assignment 4: paper, critical article on a film. Locate a scholarly article and discuss it. Works cited required.

AFI's The 100 Greatest American Films Of All Time
Listing of films that can be researched/ viewed for the Research Film Project