LibGuides: AI Taskforce: Faculty

AI Resources for College Faculty

AI Teaching Resources
This resource page is evolving quickly with new resources and information, and we hope that you will check back often.
Artificial Intelligence
Compiles articles on AI from Inside Higher Ed. Sorts newest first
Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Academia: Resources for Faculty
Many universities and institutions of higher education are beginning to address the variety of questions, concerns, and ideas related to the use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in academia. hese institutions are sharing a diverse range of resources for faculty, administrators, and students to refer to when navigating AI inside and outside of the classroom. Faculty Development at Texas State University has collected various resources on the subject of ChatGPT and AI in higher education and created a page that faculty can use to receive possible clarity on their questions, assist with their course design, and navigate the evolving changes associated with AI.
Artificial Intelligence- Harvard Business Publishing Educatiion
A collection of articles on Artificial Intelligence for those in higher education. You may need to create a free account for access
Artificial Intelligence in Teaching and Learning
There are many artificial intelligence (AI) tools that can generate “human-like” responses to a wide range of questions and statements. Students will likely use content from these tools in a variety of ways, including as substitutes for their own thinking and writing. Like other technologies that have created new opportunities for academic dishonesty (e.g. Wikipedia, calculators, etc.), AI invites instructional responses that promote academic integrity and authentic student learning without sacrificing trust in instructor-student or student-student relationships.
Artificial Intelligence in the Classroom
Use AI with students to develop higher-level thinking skills and encourage academic integrity.
Artificial Intelligence Resource Guide
Generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) generates content based on prompts provided by users. The wide availability of GenAI systems and the ease and speed with which they can generate content raises important considerations for teaching and learning in higher ed. This resource provides instructors with suggestions and options for how to address AI use in their courses, plus links to additional resources. Because the GenAI field is fast evolving, this resource will be continually updated.
CLASSROOM RESOURCES
educators need to be aware of the benefits and limitations of AI, and how to use it effectively and responsibly in their online teaching practices. This resource provides some general suggestions, samples, and resources for use in online course facilitation, based on the latest research and best practices from experts and practitioners in the field.
EDUCAUSE Artificial Intelligence (AI) Library Resources
The EDUCAUSE Library has a breadth of AI resources for you to learn more about AI use in higher education and on campus.
A Faculty Guide to A.I.
Thanks to the introduction of easily accessible artificial intelligence technologies, our information environment is changing rapidly. Temple University put together this guidance to help faculty and their students navigate this strange new world.
The Faculty Guide to Getting Started With Gen AI
This guide consists of 20 activities and 9 lesson plans designed to help higher education faculty develop their professional AI literacy and develop strategies to integrate AI more confidently and effectively into their curriculum. The guide is designed to be referenced when you need it, on topics relevant to you, rather than read cover to cover. When you are ready, use the Contents section to jump to activities and lesson plans relevant to you.
more...less...
User will be prompted to download the guide
Generative AI Resources for Faculty
Welcome to the Teaching Center’s collection of faculty resources for generative AI. Tools like ChatGPT, Dall-E, Google Bard, and many others are now (and will continue to be) fixtures in our teaching and learning work and in our daily lives. We hope to provide you with information and options so that you can make the best use of generative AI while preventing and mitigating possible student misuse of those tools.
Incorporating AI in Teaching: Examples from Yale Instructors
Yale instructors are considering how to redesign elements of their courses to address ChatGPT and other AI platforms. Examples across the disciplines demonstrate some of the novel ways instructors are engaging their students as this technology evolves.
Incorporating Generative AI in Teaching and Learning: Faculty Examples Across Disciplines
Faculty across Columbia University are reimagining their course policies, assignments, and activities to refocus on student learning and transparently communicate expectations to their students about the use of generative AI. In what follows, faculty across disciplines provide a glimpse into their approaches as they experiment with AI in their classrooms and teach AI literacy to their students.
Instructor Resources- AI
Intended to acquaint faculty with GAI and provide suggestions for its use in the classroom.
Resources for AI and Higher Ed Instruction
The resources in here serve as a starting point for understanding the impact of AI on teaching. This collection is not meant to be exhaustive but should provide a launchpad for further exploration.
Teach with Generative AI- Resources for faculty
Harvard has consistently tried to embrace new technology across our classrooms, residential and virtual. In fall 2023, we introduced the Harvard AI Sandbox, enabling faculty to use LLMs in their classrooms while respecting copyright and data security policies. Several faculty colleagues experimented with these tools in their classrooms during the semester. Here, we have surfaced the learnings from interviews with 30-odd faculty across Harvard, with short 3-7 minute videos, all answering three questions:
What is the challenge you were trying to address?
How did you use generative AI tools to tackle it?
What did you learn?
Teaching with AI- Harvard Business School Publishing
Strategies for embracing ChatGPT and other large language models to boost student learning and help you teach more effectively.

How Generative AI Is Reshaping Education: Practical Applications for Using ChatGPT and Other LLMs
This collection of popular articles from Inspiring Minds showcases the profound possibilities of using generative AI to help you create dynamic, tailored educational experiences for your students. Whether you are an early adopter or have yet to experiment with using AI tools in your teaching, you’ll find ideas and guidance to help you explore the multifaceted capabilities of these technologies and uncover the transformative influence custom chatbots can have on teaching and learning, as well as your research.

GenAI Chatbot Prompt Library for Educators
We have a variety of prompts to help you lesson plan and do administrative tasks with GenAI chatbots like ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and Perplexity.

The Human Teacher, the AI Teacher and the AIed-Teacher Relationship
Teachers should not treat AI as 'the enemy', and instead find ways to work with it for the betterment of learning outcomes for students. Working with AI can mean transforming teaching and the AIed-teacher relationship, resulting in positive outcomes and learning experiences for teachers and students.
Leadership is needed for ethical ChatGPT: Character, assessment, and learning using artifificial intelligence (AI).
We identify in this commentary a position where educators can leverage AI like ChatGPT to build supportive learning environments for students who have cultivated good character.
HAVE YOU HAD “THE TALK”? DISCUSSING AI WITH STUDENTS
Instead of becoming overwhelmed by the AI hype, pulling back the curtain on what these models actually do and how they work can help demystify them and also reveal both their possibilities and pitfalls more clearly. While anyone who interacts with generative AI would benefit from this exploration, it can be particularly beneficial in an educational setting, where educators and students can learn from each other and become critical thinkers and users of these tools together. Here are some factors to consider when facilitating a classroom dialogue about AI.
When It Comes to Gen AI, Let Your Students Play
How Tuck’s Sprint-Based Approach to AI Encourages Students to Create, Problem Solve, and Have Fun

4 Simple Ways to Integrate AI into Your Class
If You Haven’t Started Teaching with ChatGPT Yet, It’s OK—Here’s How to Start
101 creative ideas to use AI in education, A crowdsourced collection
“This collection represents vision; it embodies creativity. The importance of perspective and community of practice comes to life here in the breadth of examples demonstrating creative ideas to use AI in education. As we explore how we design new experiences for our learners and differentiate opportunities to engage in new ways, we have an opportunity to push our own boundaries and explore. We can collaborate, radically. This is a collection that will only grow as we shift our own practice and as we allow ourselves to experiment and iterate for a transformational student experience.” Dr Margaret Korosec, Dean of Online and Digital Education, University of Leeds.
Enhancing Student Engagement Through Artificial Intelligence (AI): Understanding the Basics, Opportunities, and Challenges
This paper not only introduces basic AI concepts but also explains their specific applications and relevance in the higher education context. Moreover, it outlines the prospects of using AI technologies and chatbots to boost student engagement, presenting a synthesis of the opportunities available. Concurrently, we discuss the concerns and challenges associated with integrating AI into higher education settings.
Framing Generative AI in Education with the GenAI Intent and Orientation Model
The proposed model seeks to assist instructors and learners with a framing lens for how GenAI might be useful in educational settings.
Guide, don’t hide: reprogramming learning in the wake of AI
As artificial intelligence becomes increasingly integral to the world outside academia, universities face a crucial choice: to use or not to use.
How does generative artificial intelligence impact student creativity?
This study aimed to learn about the impact of generative artificial intelligence (AI) on student creative thinking skills and subsequently provide instructors with information on how to guide the use of AI for creative growth within classroom instruction. While AI has the potential to significantly support creative thinking, there are also negative impacts on creativity and creative confidence. The authors of this study believe that creativity is central to learning, developing students’ ability to respond to challenges and find solutions within any field; thus the results of this study can be applicable to any classroom faced with the impact and/or integrating the use of AI on idea generation.
If Your Syllabus Needs a Refresh, Generative AI Can Help
4 Simple Ways ChatGPT Can Help You Build Richer Courses
Leveraging Generative AI for Inclusive Excellence in Higher Education
Drawing from three lenses of inclusion, this article considers how to leverage generative AI as part of a constellation of mission-centered inclusive practices in higher education.
Post-apocalyptic education
Ethan Mollick argues that while the Homework Apocalypse has arrived, two illusions persist: teachers believe they can still easily detect AI use, and students may not fully recognize how relying on AI tools can undermine their learning. His analysis provides a thought-provoking look at the evolving landscape of AI in education.—AI x Education- Lily Lee and Yash Yardi Sep 12, 2024
A Survival Guide to A.I. and Teaching
Our goal in this 10 part series is to help faculty understand and proactively address student use of generative AI.
Teaching with AI- OpenAI
Resource includes a few stories of how educators are using ChatGPT to accelerate student learning and some prompts to help educators get started with the tool. The FAQ (opens in a new window) contains additional resources from leading education organizations on how to teach with and about AI, examples of new AI-powered education tools, and answers to frequently asked questions from educators about things like how ChatGPT works, its limitations, the efficacy of AI detectors, and bias.
Teaching with GAI in Mind
In the age of generative artificial intelligence, how should instructors change the way they teach?
Using AI to Implement Effective Teaching Strategies in Classrooms: Five Strategies, Including Prompts
This paper provides guidance for using AI to quickly and easily implement evidence-based teaching strategies that instructors can integrate into their teaching. We discuss five teaching strategies that have proven value but are hard to implement in practice due to time and effort constraints. We show how AI can help instructors create material that supports these strategies and improve student learning.
What ChatGPT’s Voice and Image Capabilities Mean for Educators
Recent advancements have expanded what it means to use generative AI in the classroom. The author offers four specific use cases for generative AI that go beyond text. By trying out these ideas, faculty can elevate their teaching and give students opportunities to practice the in-demand AI skills future employers will surely seek. D Ruscito 2/20/2024
Gen AI’s Impact on the Case Classroom
Amid a surge of generative AI advancements and innovations, educators are rightly puzzling out how best to address the technology’s impact on case teaching. Some feel it’s a direct threat, while others see it as a useful tool.

Assignments
This is an evolving collection of curated assignments that integrate AI tools from educators around the world
How I Used Gen AI to Create a Highly Engaging Assignment
I’ve been experimenting with generative AI tools to develop relevant, multimedia-rich assignments—complete with videos, slides, and grading rubrics. The results have been remarkable. Gen AI has helped make my class assignments not only more enjoyable and powerful for my students, but more efficient for me to create.
Make AI Part of the Assignment
Learning requires friction. Here’s how to get students to disclose and evaluate their own usage of tools like ChatGPT.

The Impact of AI on Learning Design 2024
Applying AI to instructional design is not simply a case of feeding an AI tool a topic and then sitting back to wait for content to appear. Rather, AI in instructional design can provide the base for creating custom learning paths that are aligned with specific learning outcomes, as well as the needs of students and their capabilities. As a content creator, you can leverage AI to create interesting and successful learning experiences – provided that you adhere to best practices.

10 Ways Artificial Intelligence Is Transforming Instructional Design
Artificial intelligence (AI) is providing instructors and course designers with an incredible array of new tools and techniques to improve the course design and development process. However, the intersection of AI and content creation is not new.