Skip to Main Content

OER

Overview of OER

Library Resources

The main push for OER is to provide students avenues to free/zero cost access to resources needed for their courses at Brazosport College. This LibGuide notes online OER resources and sharable sources with open licenses to help our instructors do just this. However we also encourage our faculty to utilize material from the BC Library:

  • Access to library material is free to our BC community of students, staff and faculty
  • While without open licenses, links to most online library material can be easily and legally integrated into D2L and/or LibGuides
  • Library databases are licensed for use with a login, specifically a password, confirming user affiliation with Brazosport College (BC Username and Password).
  • Faculty can search library databases to discover course materials employing free/zero cost library content (e-books, streaming videos, photos, statistics, articles, and more).
  • As an addition to (or better yet, a substitute for) traditional print textbooks, instructors can use library e-books (entire book, chapters or specific pages) or compile all/any of the aforementioned library resources as the course readings. 

No need to go this alone- schedule a consultation with a Librarian so we can guide you in locating open resources that are right for your course objectives, particularly when incorporating BC Library resources like periodical articles, streaming video or e-books. 

BC Library Databases

The BC Library subscribes to well over 150 databases. When browsing though our offerings, one will note some databases are general, meaning they contain information across the disciplines, while others are focused on specific subjects (subject specific databases). Certain databases also contain information only in a specific medium i.e. periodical articles, streaming video, e-books, statistics. images, etc. 

  • BC databases come from various vendors so we have produced a tutorial (see below) for linking library material from these platforms to post in D2L
  • WARNING- refrain from linking to the URL at the top of your web browser 
  • As noted in the tutorial, use the permanent links so students can access these library resources off campus/ off network
  • Students may be prompted to enter their BC Username and Password to access these linked library sources even though they have previously authenticated through D2L. 
  • The tutorial below also notes resources for searching these platforms.
  • The tutorial also notes (when available) faculty resources (assignments. lesson plans) specific to these platforms
  • BC Librarians are also great resources for helping faculty with embedding library material into your curriculum. 

Tutorial (click the below icon to open) on how to identify source links from the various database vendors/platforms in order to post library material into D2L.