LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Resources: College Diversity Web Resources

Web Resources

Primary Source Databases and Archives

Here are a few links to national sources that contain primary source historical accounts:

Civil Rights History Project
"oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans"
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
North American Slave Narratives

"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of Black people struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people and some significant fictionalized first-person accounts of enslavement published in English before 1920."

Diverse: Issues In Higher Education
Diverse sets the standard for reporting on diversity, access and opportunity for all in higher education. Because it provides relevant, credible news and information on higher education issues with a unique perspective, Diverse is the most widely read trade magazine for and about underrepresented groups in higher education. In fact, many minority higher education professionals refer to Diverse as the “top diversity news resource” in higher education. From https://www.diverseeducation.com/page/contact-us
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources- EDUCAUSE
EDUCAUSE is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) and at the same time recognizes that leading change toward diversity is an area of expertise with its own knowledge base and professional practitioners. The resources provided, drawn from a variety of external sources, provide an entrée into DEI topics for higher education IT professionals who would like elevate diversity and inclusion as a priority personally or for their organizations.
DEI Resources- Lindenwood University
A sampling of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Resources Related to Higher Education
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources- University of Massachusetts Amherst
UMass Amherst offers a number of diversity, equity, and inclusion resources for students, faculty, and staff. Use the resource navigation sidebar to explore resources related to academics, bias reporting and crisis support, campus life, policies, mentoring, and learn about available trainings and workshops.
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusive Excellence- Association of American Colleges and Universities
AAC&U understands diversity and equity as fundamental goals of higher education and as resources for learning that are valuable for all students, vital to democracy and a democratic workforce and to the global position and wellbeing of the United States. AAC&U's commitment to make excellence inclusive—to bring the benefits of liberal education to all students—is rooted deeply in commitment to a diverse, informed, and civically active society.
Preparing Staff for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiatives
For DEI work to be systemic in schools, schools need to establish professional learning communities (PLCs) working together to tackle the most pertinent items in their school context.

DEI (Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion) Resources- University of Texas Libraries’ Diversity Action Committee
One of the best ways to be an ally is to educate yourself. While it can be tempting to ask your colleagues from marginalized communities to help you understand their perspectives, this can put them in an awkward position, especially in the workplace. People from marginalized communities are often over-burdened with the invisible labor of educating those around them. Whether you want to become a better ally or understand different perspectives within your own community, there are countless resources available. This is by no means an exhaustive list
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion- Association of Research Libraries
Research libraries work to advance access to economic and social prosperity, encourage full participation in society, and counter the historical lack of access to material resources about underrepresented human groups in collections that we cultivate and steward.
We focus on recruiting into our organizations and developing individuals who identify as people of color, or are from historically underrepresented racial and ethnic groups.
We also ensure that our community continues to improve the representation of historically underrepresented, underserved, or marginalized groups in information resources.
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion- American Library Association
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion are fundamental values of the association and its members, and diversity is listed as one of ALA's Key Action Areas. The Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services uses a social justice framework to ensure the inclusion of diverse perspectives within our profession and association to best position ALA as a trusted, leading advocate for equitable access to library services for all.
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion- Association of College and Research Libraries
ACRL is dedicated to creating diverse and inclusive communities in the Association and in academic and research libraries. This core commitment permeates the work of the Association, cutting across all ACRL sections, committees, interest and discussion groups, and communities of practice. The Association will acknowledge and address historical racial inequities; challenge oppressive systems within academic libraries; value different ways of knowing; and identify and work to eliminate barriers to equitable services, spaces, resources, and scholarship.