Straightforward Statistics by
Straightforward Statistics: Understanding the Tools of Research is a clear and direct introduction to statistics for the social, behavioral, and life sciences. Based on the author's extensive experience teaching undergraduate statistics, this book provides a narrative presentation of the coreprinciples that provide the foundation for modern-day statistics. With step-by-step guidance on the nuts and bolts of computing these statistics, the book includes detailed tutorials how to use state-of-the-art software, SPSS, to compute the basic statistics employed in modern academic and appliedresearch. Across 13 succinct chapters, this text presents statistics using a conceptual approach along with information on the relevance of the different tools in different contexts and summaries of current research examples.Students should find this book easy useful and engaging in its presentation while instructors should find it detailed, comprehensive, accessible, and helpful in complementing a basic course in statistics.
Fundamentals of Statistics in Health Administration by
Fundamentals of Statistics in Health Administration fills the needs of both students and practicing health care managers who must apply statistical concepts and methods to real world health care management problems and issues. It covers the fundamentals of statistics in a user-friendly way, with a strong emphasis on practical application in health administration. The text is highly structured with step-by-step instructions throughout. There is an emphasis on Excel and other commonly used programs, although manual calculations are given careful attention as well.
Biostatistics by
This 10th edition of Biostatistics: A Foundation for Analysis in the Health Sciences, 10th Edition should appeal to the same audience for which the first nine editions were written: advanced undergraduate students, beginning graduate students, and health professionals in need of a reference book on statistical methodology. Like its predecessors, this edition requires few mathematical prerequisites. Only reasonable proficiency in algebra is required for an understanding of the concepts and methods underlying the calculations. The emphasis continues to be on an intuitive understanding of principles rather than an understanding based on mathematical sophistication. For most of the statistical techniques covered in this edition, we discuss the capabilities of one or more software packages (MINITAB, SAS, SPSS, and NCSS) that may be used to perform the calculations needed for their application. Resulting screen displays are also shown.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health is the only textbook that combines the disciplines of medical epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in one convenient resource. Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this text presents the information you need with a clinical focus, using real-life medical examples throughout. With review questions in each chapter to maximize knowledge retention and target key areas of review, it serves as an outstanding resource for USMLE prep - and is recommended by the American Board of Preventive Medicine as a top review source for its core specialty examination! Grasp and retain vital information easily thanks to quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations; succinct text; and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning in a highly visual approach. Spend more time reviewing and less time searching thanks to an extremely focused, "high-yield" presentation. Deepen your understanding of complex epidemiology and biostatistics concepts through clinically focused, real-life examples. Gauge your mastery of public health concepts and build confidence with case-based questions - now accessed online for a more interactive experience - that provide effective chapter review and help you target key areas for further study. Keep up with the very latest in public health and preventive health - areas that have shown great growth in recent years. New coverage includes the epidemiology of mental health disorders, disaster planning, health care reform, and the 'One Health' concept that highlights the indelible links among the health of people, other species, and the planet itself. Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, plus additional tables and images, supplemental information on the One Health Initiative, the latest childhood immunization schedules, chapter highlights in PowerPoint, 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers, a 177-question comprehensive review exam, and more!
Statistical Methods for Hospital Monitoring with R by
Hospitals monitoring is becoming more complex and is increasing both because staff want their data analysed and because of increasing mandated surveillance. This book provides a suite of functions in R, enabling scientists and data analysts working in infection management and quality improvement departments in hospitals, to analyse their often non-independent data which is frequently in the form of trended, over-dispersed and sometimes auto-correlated time series; this is often difficult to analyse using standard office software. This book provides much-needed guidance on data analysis using R for the growing number of scientists in hospital departments who are responsible for producing reports, and who may have limited statistical expertise. This book explores data analysis using R and is aimed at scientists in hospital departments who are responsible for producing reports, and who are involved in improving safety. Professionals working in the healthcare quality and safety community will also find this book of interest Statistical Methods for Hospital Monitoring with R: Provides functions to perform quality improvement and infection management data analysis. Explores the characteristics of complex systems, such as self-organisation and emergent behaviour, along with their implications for such activities as root-cause analysis and the Pareto principle that seek few key causes of adverse events. Provides a summary of key non-statistical aspects of hospital safety and easy to use functions. Provides R scripts in an accompanying web site enabling analyses to be performed by the reader http://www.wiley.com/go/hospital_monitoring Covers issues that will be of increasing importance in the future, such as, generalised additive models, and complex systems, networks and power laws.
Big Data in Healthcare by
Big Data in Healthcare: Statistical Analysis of the Electronic Health Record provides the statistical tools that healthcare leaders need to organize and interpret their data. Designed for accessibility to those with a limited mathematics background, the book demonstrates how to leverage EHR data for applications as diverse as healthcare marketing, pay for performance, cost accounting, and strategic management. Topics include: Using real-world data to compare hospitals' performance. Measuring the prognosis of patients through massive data Distinguishing between fake claims and true improvements Comparing the effectiveness of different interventions using causal analysis Benchmarking different clinicians on the same set of patients Remove confounding in observational data This book can be used in introductory courses on hypothesis testing, intermediate courses on regression, and advanced courses on causal analysis. It can also be used to learn SQL language. Its extensive online instructor resources include course syllabi, PowerPoint and video lectures, Excel exercises, individual and team assignments, answers to assignments, and student-organized tutorials. Big Data in Healthcare applies the building blocks of statistical thinking to the basic challenges that healthcare leaders face every day. Prepare for those challenges with the clear understanding of your data that statistical analysis can bring - and make the best possible decisions for maximum performance in the competitive field of healthcare.
Criteria for Selecting the Leading Health Indicators for Healthy People 2030 by
Every ten years, the Department of Health and Human Service (TM)s Healthy People Initiative develops a new set of science-based, national objectives with the goal of improving the health of all Americans. Defining balanced and comprehensive criteria for healthy people enables the public, programs, and policymakers to gauge our progress and reevaluate efforts towards a healthier society. Criteria for Selecting the Leading Health Indicators for Healthy People 2030 makes recommendations for the development of Leading Health Indicators for the initiative (TM)s Healthy People 2030 framework. The authoring committee (TM)s assessments inform their recommendations for the Healthy People Federal Interagency Workgroup in their endeavor to develop the latest Leading Health Indicators. The finalized Leading Health Indicators will establish the criteria for healthy Americans and help update policies that will guide decision-marking throughout the next decade. This report also reviews and reflects upon current and past Healthy People materials to identify gaps and new objectives.
Medical Statistics Made Easy, 4th Edition by
Contains all you need to know to understand statistics in medicine. Medical Statistics Made Easyhas been a perennial bestseller since the first edition was published (it is consistently a #1 bestseller in medical statistics on Amazon). It is recommended worldwide on a variety of courses and programmes, from undergraduate medicine, through to professional medical qualifications. It is a book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicine and healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject. It is ideal for non-statisticians who need to understand how statistics are used and applied in medicine and medical research. Using a consistent format, the authors describe the most common statistical methods in turn and then rate them on how difficult they are to understand and how common they are. The worked examples that demonstrate the statistical method in action have been updated to include current articles from the medical literature and now feature a wider range of medical journals. This fourth edition continues with the same structure as the previous editions, with new sections on cut-off points and ROC curves, as well as a new chapter on choosing the right statistical test. It also features a completely revised and updated 'Statistics at work' section.
Big Data Analytics and Intelligence by
Big data is a field of research that is growing rapidly, and as the Covid-19 crisis has shown, health care is an area that could benefit greatly from its increased use and application. Big data, as derived partly from the internet of things and analysed according to specific algorithms, has a large and beneficial role to play in preventative medicine, in monitoring the health of specific groups, and in improving diagnostics. Big Data Analytics and Intelligence: A Perspective for Health Carefocuses on various areas of health care, ranging from nutrition to cancer, and providing diverse perspectives on all of them. This book explores the entire life-cycle of big data, from information retrieval to analysis, and it shows how big data's applications can enhance, streamline and improve services for patients and health-care professionals. Each chapter focuses on a specific area of health care and how big data is applicable to it, with background and current examples provided.
A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed by
Do statistics-heavy research papers give you a headache? Are you baffled by bias, confused by correlation, or flummoxed by F-tests? A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed is here to help! This book is designed to assist students, clinicians, and researchers in becoming familiar with statistical and research techniques by covering the essentials of the topic and drawing attention to many common problem areas. Inspired to write on this topic in reaction to mistakes he encountered in actual papers, David L. Streiner uses his trademark sense of humour and light-hearted style to explain complex statistical concepts in lucid, jargon-free language. Streiner delves into topics such as presenting data (or, conversely, how not to), statistical techniques, and more advanced procedures. To help readers detect problems with research design and interpretation, he details important 'CRAP' (convoluted reasoning or anti-intellectual pomposity) detectors for which they should watch out. Even those with little or no background in statistics, measurement theory, or research will come out of A Guide for the Statistically Perplexed with a new understanding and appreciation of these topics.
Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.