Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management by
At a time when health care organizations face unprecedented financial challenges, understanding financial accounting is important for all health care professionals, especially those who manage a department and a budget. Designed for both students and professionals, Accounting Fundamentals for Health Care Management, Second Edition clearly explains accounting principles and applies them to the health care environment.Critical topics such as recording and reporting financial information, depreciation, and financial statement analysis are all thoroughly covered The Second Edition offers: * New co-author, Thad Calabrese * New chapter (Chapter 2) provides an Excel tutorial. * New discussion of the impact of Health Care Reform in Chapter 3 * Updated throughout with information on IFRS * Coverage of 'cash basis' vs. 'accrual basis' * New discussion of 'fair value' * Simplified discussion of MACRS * New discussion of Sarbanes-Oxley Act * Many general updates
Hospitals and Health Care Organizations by
Drawing on the expertise of decision-making professionals, leaders, and managers in health care organizations, Hospitals & Health Care Organizations: Management Strategies, Operational Techniques, Tools, Templates, and Case Studies addresses decreasing revenues, increasing costs, and growing consumer expectations in today's increasingly competitive health care market. Offering practical experience and applied operating vision, the authors integrate Lean managerial applications, and regulatory perspectives with real-world case studies, models, reports, charts, tables, diagrams, and sample contracts. The result is an integration of post PP-ACA market competition insight with Lean management and operational strategies vital to all health care administrators, comptrollers, and physician executives. The text is divided into three sections: Managerial Fundamentals Policy and Procedures Strategies and Execution Using an engaging style, the book is filled with authoritative guidance, practical health care-centered discussions, templates, checklists, and clinical examples to provide you with the tools to build a clinically efficient system. Its wide-ranging coverage includes hard-to-find topics such as hospital inventory management, capital formation, and revenue cycle enhancement. Health care leadership, governance, and compliance practices like OSHA, HIPAA, Sarbanes-Oxley, and emerging ACO model policies are included. Health 2.0 information technologies, EMRs, CPOEs, and social media collaboration are also covered, as are 5S, Six Sigma, and other logistical enhancing flow-through principles. The result is a must-have, "how-to" book for all industry participants.
Financial Management for Nurse Managers and Executives by
Financial Management for Nurse Managers is a text designed for financial management courses in graduate level nursing programs and for practicing nurses or nurse entrepreneurs who are seeking a better understanding of financial management. It covers financial topics all nurse managers need to know and use in their roles as managers. Nursing-focused content thoroughly describes health care finance and accounting from the nurse manager's point of view. Numerous worksheets and tables including healthcare spreadsheets, budgets, and calculations illustrate numerous financial and accounting methods. Chapter opener features include learning objectives and an overview of chapter content to help you organize and summarize your notes. Key concepts definitions found at the end of each chapter help summarize your understanding of chapter content. Suggested Readings found at the end of each chapter give additional reading and research opportunities. NEW! Major revision of chapter 2 (The Health Care Environment), with additions on healthcare reform, initiatives to stop paying for hospital or provider errors, hospice payment, and funding for nursing education; plus updates of health care expenditure and pay for performance; provide a strong start to this new edition. NEW! Major revision of chapter 5 (Quality, Costs, and Financing), with updates to quality-financing, Magnet organizations, and access to care, provides the most up-to-date information possible. NEW! Reorganization and expansion of content in chapter 15 (Performance Budgeting) with updated examples better illustrates how performance budgeting could be used in a pay-for-performance environment. NEW! Major revision of the variance analysis discussion in chapter 16 (Controlling Operating Results) offers a different approach for computation of variances that is easier to understand. NEW! Addition of comparative effectiveness research to chapter 18 (Benchmarking, Productivity, and Cost Benefit and Cost Effectiveness Analysis) covers a recently developed approach informs health-care decisions by providing evidence on the effectiveness of different treatment options. NEW! Addition of nursing intensity weights, another approach for costing nursing services, to chapter 9 (Determining Health Care Costs and Prices), lets you make decisions about what method works best for you.
Healthcare in the United States by
Healthcare in the United States: Clinical, Financial, and Operational Dimensions offers an introductory overview of the American healthcare system by exploring its many organizations, populations, professions, structures, financing, and delivery models, as well as their impact. Authors Stephen L. Walston and Kenneth L. Johnson delve into the many conflicting issues related to cost, access, and quality. The book's 14 chapters cover the following and more: A comprehensive review of the health professions and types of healthcare organizations; An exploration of how medical providers are paid; Major challenges currently facing physicians, hospitals, and the pharmaceutical industry; An examination of the long-term and mental healthcare sectors and the increasing demands for their services; The significant role of the government in healthcare, including the influence of politics; The basics of population health, including an in-depth look at how changing social, demographic, and economic conditions in the United States affect healthcare; The connections between health behaviors, health insurance, and health outcomes; Information technology's role in healthcare; A comparison of US healthcare to that in other countries, with a focus on the four basic models on which most healthcare systems are created to enhance and assess students' learning, each of the book's chapters features case studies, thought-provoking questions and assignments, sidebars, and key terms accompanied by definitions. As they read, future healthcare administrators and clinicians will obtain a grounding in the multifaceted US healthcare system, thus enabling them to better address its multiple priorities, controversies, and opportunities.
Healthcare Finance by
Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management, Fifth Edition is the latest book from the most trusted name in healthcare finance, Dr. Louis C. Gapenski. Like its predecessors, this book introduces readers to the basic concepts of healthcare finance, including accounting and financial management. Fifth Edition Features New or expanded coverage of The impact of taxes and depreciation on for-profit providers Medical coding Monte Carlo simulation Form 990 Fund accounting Recent information on healthcare reform includes coverage of accountable care organizations (ACOs) and medical homes with updated real-world examples Updated financial accounting coverage conforms to the latest AICPA formats New learning aids, including on-page definitions, For Your Consideration scenarios and Key Equations quick-reference tools
Healthcare Finance by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, solutions to end-of-chapter questions and problems, and a transition guide to the new edition. The essential concepts of both accounting and financial management are covered in this best-selling healthcare finance book. Through clear explanations, numerous examples, and realistic practice problems, it arms future managers with the grounding they need to make financially sound decisions for their healthcare organizations. This thoroughly updated edition provides more emphasis on the unique marketplace for healthcare services and additional examples from nonhospital settings, including medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Particular content changes include: Expanded discussion of health insurance, reimbursement methodologies, and the impact of healthcare reform on provider behavior A new presentation of managerial accounting material that follows a more logical progression of concepts, emphasizing the level of analysis (organization, department, service) rather than techniques Coverage of three service-line costing methods: cost-to-charge ratio, relative value unit, and activity-based costing Plus, an introduction to time-driven activity-based costing, a method for costing at the patient level Updated financial accounting formats that conform to the latest American Institute of Certified Public Accountants guidance Increased coverage of the revenue cycle This edition also features a more user-friendly layout and additional end-of-chapter practice problems. Online student resources include: A chapter on lease financing and business valuation (previously included in the book) A chapter on distributions to owners: bonuses, dividends, and repurchases Use the companion casebook for even more classroom application! Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition, is an ideal supplement to this text. Through real-world cases, it bridges the gap between learning concepts in a lecture setting and applying these concepts on the job. Students will be better prepared to deal with the multitude of issues that arise in the practice of healthcare finance!