Organizational Behavior in Health Care by
The U.S. health care industry continues to grow and change dramatically. With the passage of the Affordable Care Act, the industry has experienced some of the most dynamic changes that health care managers have seen. In the coming years, more system-wide changes will occur as we continue our push forward to achieve value-based health care. Health care managers are quickly learning that what worked in the past may not work in the future. Organizational Behavior in Health Care, Third Edition is specifically written for health care managers who are on the front lines every day, motivating and leading others in a constantly changing, complex environment.Designed for graduate-level study, this book introduces the reader to the behavioral science literature relevant to the study of individual and group behavior, specifically in healthcare organizational settings. Using an applied focus, it provides a clear and concise overview of the essential topics in organizational behavior from the healthcare manager's perspective.The Third Edition offers:* More application examples of the theories and concepts throughout all chapters* New and updated case studies* Diversity chapter updated for recent demographic changes affecting the industry* Contemporary leadership chapter broadened to include collaborative leadership characteristics and skill set
Human Resources Management for Health Care Organizations by
This book is a comprehensive guide to the essential areas of health care human resources management, and is an immediately useful practical handbook for practitioners as well as a textbook for use health care management programs. Written by the authors of Handbook for the New Health Care Manager and Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations, the book covers the context of human resources management in the unique health care business arena from a strategic perspective includes SHRM and human resources planning, organizational culture and assessment, and the legal environment of human resources management. Managing volunteers and job analysis performance appraisal instruments, training and development programs, and recruitment, targeted selection and hiring techniques are covered. Compensation policies and practices, employer-provided benefits management, implementation of training and organizational development programs, as well as labor-management relations for health care organizations and healthcare human resource information technology are covered, with practical examples and proven strategies amply provided in each chapter.
Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor by
Today's healthcare supervisors are continuously faced with smaller budgets, fewer workers, greater responsibilities and time pressure. The Sixth Edition of Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor continues to provide valuable information for future health care managers and supervisors who must address these challenges daily.Written primarily for those who have little to no management training, Umiker's offers practical suggestions for improving effectiveness both as a supervisor and as an organization. Ideal for students in junior undergraduate, community, and career college programs, author Charles McConnell maintains Bill Umiker's clear, jargon-free writing style.Key New Features:* New and improved case studies, exercises, and end-of-chapter questions.* Combination of some chapters to strengthen the structure of the contents* Comprehensive and updated online instructor resources including an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint lecture slides, Test Bank.
Case Studies in Organizational Behavior and Theory for Health Care by
This compendium of 35 case studies examines managerial and organizational behavior concepts put to practice in everyday, real-world healthcare settings. Through these cases, students will gain skills, confidence, and a clear understanding of the application of theory. This is one of the few collections that offers case studies specific to the theories of organizational behavior, within the healthcare setting.Case studies topics include chapters such as "' I Don't Want to Get Fired, But...", "Readiness and Change Management During Electronic Medical Records Adoption", " Joint Patient Liaison Office: Building a Streamlined Unit", "The Tardy Drama Queen", "It's Just Not Fair!", "When Increased Diversity Improves Team Performance", "Whose Patient Is It? ", " Managing Organizational Growth during a Time of Downsizing", "Working Toward Collaborative Care", " The Struggle for Power at Midwest Hospital System", "Conflict at the Academic Medical Center: Productivity Levels", " EMR System: A Blessing or A Curse?", "The New Manager's Challenge", and much more.
Leadership in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Visionary Leadership in Healthcare by 
Applying Quality Management in Healthcare by
The COVID-19 pandemic exposed the flaws in patient care delivery in many healthcare organizations. Hospitals scrambled to deal with inadequate supplies of ventilators and personal protective equipment while simultaneously combating the inefficiencies inherent in their existing systems. Outpatient areas struggled to deliver care in an environment that was safe for both workers and patients. The pandemic was a reminder that a focus on comprehensive quality management is vital to the daily work of healthcare providers and those they treat. Applying Quality Management in Healthcare: A Systems Approach examines the real-world tools and techniques necessary for improving systems that affect patient care outcomes. Author Patrice L. Spath explains how to explore and modify interconnected systems to make lasting changes that benefit the entire organization. This updated edition features a new chapter on three organizational characteristics that advance success in quality management: continuous improvement, high reliability, and accountability. Throughout, the book emphasizes the role of leadership in all aspects of quality.