Human Resources Management for Health Care Organizations by
This book is a comprehensive guide to the essential areas of health care human resources management, and is an immediately useful practical handbook for practitioners as well as a textbook for use health care management programs. Written by the authors of Handbook for the New Health Care Manager and Human Resources Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations, the book covers the context of human resources management in the unique health care business arena from a strategic perspective includes SHRM and human resources planning, organizational culture and assessment, and the legal environment of human resources management. Managing volunteers and job analysis performance appraisal instruments, training and development programs, and recruitment, targeted selection and hiring techniques are covered. Compensation policies and practices, employer-provided benefits management, implementation of training and organizational development programs, as well as labor-management relations for health care organizations and healthcare human resource information technology are covered, with practical examples and proven strategies amply provided in each chapter.
Strategic Human Resource Management in Health Care by
Strategic management of HR in health care is important in delivering high-quality patient care. Given that salary and wages constitute about 65 to 80% of the total operating budget in a typical health care organization and also the fact that people play a critical role in delivering high quality patient care, it is imperative for health care organizations to manage their human resources more effectively. Unfortunately, the HR function remains one of the most neglected in health care organizations and 'warm body syndrome' seems to characterize the role of HRM in health care organizations. The purpose of the special issue of AHCM on Human Resource Management is to explore the strategic role that HR function can play in delivering high quality and affordable health care.
The Health Care Manager's Human Resources Handbook by
This unique book about human resource (HR) management is written for health care department managers who must relate to and work with their HR departments and manage their personnel. An expert with 18 years of experience in human resources management, author Charles R. McConnell describes what the function of the HR department can do for you, and shows how to get the most value out of an organization's HR department. For each topic addressed, the book provides: background; the HR department's responsibilities; where and how HR interfaces with the line management; the HR responsibilities of the manager; and how the manager can get the best from the HR function.The Second Edition brings the book up to date by addressing the following changes in the field:* Pressure on HR to operate with fewer staff; * Tendency toward decentralization for certain HR activities; * Impact of organizational flattening and mergers and acquisitions.* Newer laws and changes to existing laws that impact recruiting and Interviewing, as well as documentation, termination, legal action, and unions
Organizational Behavior in Health Care by
The U.S. health care industry continues to grow and change dramatically. With the passage of the Affordable Care Act, the industry has experienced some of the most dynamic changes that health care managers have seen. In the coming years, more system-wide changes will occur as we continue our push forward to achieve value-based health care. Health care managers are quickly learning that what worked in the past may not work in the future. Organizational Behavior in Health Care, Third Edition is specifically written for health care managers who are on the front lines every day, motivating and leading others in a constantly changing, complex environment.Designed for graduate-level study, this book introduces the reader to the behavioral science literature relevant to the study of individual and group behavior, specifically in healthcare organizational settings. Using an applied focus, it provides a clear and concise overview of the essential topics in organizational behavior from the healthcare manager's perspective.The Third Edition offers:* More application examples of the theories and concepts throughout all chapters* New and updated case studies* Diversity chapter updated for recent demographic changes affecting the industry* Contemporary leadership chapter broadened to include collaborative leadership characteristics and skill set
Strategic Human Resource Management in Health Care by
Strategic management of HR in health care is important in delivering high-quality patient care. Given that salary and wages constitute about 65 to 80% of the total operating budget in a typical health care organization and also the fact that people play a critical role in delivering high quality patient care, it is imperative for health care organizations to manage their human resources more effectively. Unfortunately, the HR function remains one of the most neglected in health care organizations and 'warm body syndrome' seems to characterize the role of HRM in health care organizations. The purpose of the special issue of AHCM on Human Resource Management is to explore the strategic role that HR function can play in delivering high quality and affordable health care.
Organization Development in Health Care by
A volume in Contemporary Trends in Organization Development and Change Series Editors Therese F. Yaeger, Benedictine University and Peter F. Sorensen, Jr. Benedictine University In a world saturated with the "how tos" of OD, there is a void of evidence-based resources for both organizational leaders and OD scholar-practitioners to use as a guide while navigating the complex and chaotic environment of healthcare. This handbook has been created to fill this space and provide a resource for this vital audience at a time of great change and greater potential in the healthcare arena. The handbook will focus on the critical nature of OD in healthcare and how it applies in this unique environment; examining its broad use from hospitals to corporate offices and from small systems to multinational corporations. The book will provide research-based, practical processes and methods, while sharing compelling cases of how the compassion and care associated with healthcare is wound tightly with the OD work it encompasses. The handbook will also offer a comprehensive look at the role OD plays in the critical issues and significant changes facing healthcare today. The handbook overall is a small part history and a small part predictions surrounding very practical and applicable uses of OD In healthcare. Through the sharing of engagement processes, revealing outcomes and connecting each concept to a living case of how OD has impacted the healthcare field, this handbook provides a unique resource for OD and HR professionals, healthcare executives, MHA students and the academic community.
Health Management 2. 0 by
From precision medicine to pandemics, from value-based healthcare to stakeholder engagement, European health systems are facing unprecedented change. How can health managers cope with these challenges and what skills and competencies will they need to deliver transformational change in the 'new normality'? This original volume presents a blueprint for Health Management 2.0 and helps set a path for long-term health system sustainability. Along with a comparative European framework to illustrate current developments in health management, the authors also highlight five key change drivers: integration; personalization; empowerment; digitalization; and life sciences, and examine how each is enabling the development of health systems that are fundamentally different from those of today. With fresh insights for managers, educators, researchers and policy makers, Health Management 2.0promotes a modern interdisciplinary and dynamic approach to health leadership and management - one that focuses on skills and competencies - and outlines international best practice for future teaching and training.
Boundary Issues and Dual Relationships in the Human Services by
Should a therapist disclose personal information to a client, accept a client's gift, or provide a former client with a job? Is it appropriate to exchange e-mail or text messages with clients or correspond with them on social networking websites? Some acts, such as initiating a sexual relationship with a client, are clearly prohibited, yet what about more subtle interactions, such as hugging or accepting invitations to a social event? Is maintaining a friendship with a former client or a client's relative a conflict of interest?Frederic G. Reamer offers a frank analysis of a range of boundary issues that human-service practitioners may confront. He confronts the ethics of intimate relationships with clients and former clients, the healthy parameters of practitioners'self-disclosure, the giving and receiving of gifts and favors, and the unavoidable and unanticipated circumstances of social encounters and geographical proximity. With case studies addressing challenges in the mental health field, school contexts, child welfare, addiction programs, home health care, elder services, and prison, rural, and military settings, Reamer offers effective, practical risk-management models that prevent problems and help balance dual relationships.Since the publication of the previous edition of Boundary Issues and Dual Relationships in the Human Services in 2012, digital technology has transformed how human-service professionals deliver services to clients. This third edition brings the book up to date, adding discussion of the ways in which practitioners'online communications and technology-based relationships with clients can violate ethical standards and providing practical advice for how to resolve boundary issues.