Core Databases - BC HSM Program Guide | Health Services Management program

HSM Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Full text titles include American Journal of Chinese Medicine, American Journal of Homeopathic Medicine, California Journal of Oriental Medicine, European Journal of Clinical Hypnosis, International Journal of Medicinal Mushrooms, Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine, Journal of Asian Natural Products Research, Journal of the Australian Traditional-Medicine Society, Journal of the Canadian Chiropractic Association and many others. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL® index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL® Complete also provides indexing for more than 5,400 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4.1 million records dating back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL® Complete covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for nearly 1,500 journals are also included.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. Includes more than 500 full-text journals and magazines, more than 240 full-text health reference books and encyclopedias, and more than 2,600 full-text evidence-based health reports. Consumer Health Complete also contains nearly 500 medical images and diagrams, 250 animations with audio narration, dozens of articles covering teen health topics, and full-text consumer health pamphlets and leaflets. Subjects Include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Partnering with many of the world's leading publishers, Credo Reference combines publishing expertise with the latest digital technologies to unlock the knowledge value of reference material. By using unique proprietary technology that integrates information through a network of intelligent, multi-dimensional cross-references, Credo Reference delivers real added value to students, researchers, businesses and reference help desks worldwide.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 190,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. All e-books are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added regularly to the collections. Search by title, author, keyword, publisher, publication date, or ISBN number.EBSCO eBooks Libguide provides links to short video tutorials and other needed information to ensure users search and utilize this resource most effectively. 
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals.
Natural & Alternative Treatments This link opens in a new window A complementary and alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer health researcher. Updated weekly, this database provides current information that will satisfy an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased information on natural health. The database contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy. The articles contained in the database are based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. At present, more than 12,000 such studies are cited in the material, and new studies are added regularly. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Nursing Reference Center Plus is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. With Nursing Reference Center Plus, you get all the content in Nursing Reference Center and much more including videos, images, and new topics covering nursing management and leadership. Nursing Reference Center Plus provides staff nurses and nurse educators with a resource that supports education goals, encourages nursing students to access the original research, and provides options for patient care while preserving and supporting the essential learning opportunities that educators want to provide.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). With PubMed Central, NLM has taken the lead in preserving and maintaining access to the electronic literature, just as it has done for decades with the printed biomedical literature. PubMed Central aims to fill the role of a world class library in the digital age. It is not a journal publisher. NLM believes that giving all users free access to the material in PubMed Central is the best way to ensure the durability and utility of the archive as technology changes over time.

Access Business News This link opens in a new window This Web-based resource consolidates current and archived content from the complete, full-text electronic editions of more than 350 business and law journals, local and regional business news weeklies, and other news sources across North America—many of which are unvailable elsewhere.
Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Reference Center This link opens in a new window Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Centeris a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR). This collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to BC/DR including, Business Continuity Management, Business Continuity Planning, Business Impact Analysis, Contingency Auditing, Continuity of Operations Planning (COOP), Crisis Communications, Disaster Mitigation, Emergency Preparedness, Organizational Resiliency, Regulatory Issues, Risk Evaluation, Strategic Planning, etc.Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Centeroffers cover-to-cover indexing of more than 150 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all with a strong focus on BC/DR and closely aligned issues. This database also features tens of thousands of additional BC/DR-focused articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications. Designed for continuity experts and information professionals,Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Centerprovides the greatest concentration of BC/DR-related content available today.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Completeis the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals,Business Source Completecontains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal thatBusiness Source Completeis the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window Health Business Elite provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Health Business Elite contains full text content for more than 570 journals such as H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Harvard Business Review (available back to 1922), Health Facilities Management, Health Management Technology, Healthcare Financial Management, Marketing Health Services, Modern Healthcare, and many more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window The Small Business Reference Center gives provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books. The user-friendly interface guides through small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: Interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information. The Small Business Reference Center is updated daily.

Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.

Issues & Controversies : Health Care
Issue Overview:
Countries around the world have struggled to craft health care systems capable of meeting the medical needs of their populations. Some have adopted government-run health care programs, while others rely on privately run hospitals, insurance companies, and providers. The U.S. health care system combines both of these approaches, consisting of a mix of publicly and privately run programs. Medical care in the United States is a huge industry, representing nearly 18 percent of the nation's gross domestic product, or $3.8 trillion per year (about $11,500 per person).

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. This collection contains many scholarly journals.

BC HSM Program Guide | Health Services Management program

A to Z Databases!

Health Statistics

HSM Databases